LibGuides: FES 522: Research Methods in Social Science (Tynon): Library Assignment

Using This Guide for Your Assignment

Use the tabs on this guide to help you address the three parts of your assignment on "Theory, Research Questions and the Library." These will provide suggestions for:

Locating 12 journals that regularly include articles on social sciences and natural resources
- Using subject databases
- Using 1Search
Using the Web of Science to find an article which has cited the article you have been assigned to read (Westover, 1985).
Locating M.S. and Ph.D manuscripts related to some aspect of social sciences, using ScholarsArchive@OSU's Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Collection.

Top Four Databases for Finding Journals (and Research Articles)

Web of Science
A multidisciplinary collection of records for scholarly research articles included in the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, the Science Citation Index, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work. Arts & Humanities Citation Index 2003-present; Emerging Sources Citation Index 2005-present; Science Citation Index 1965-present; Social Science Citation Index 1965-present

CAB Abstracts
Forestry content since 1973 is available in the CAB Abstracts. This is the premier database for forestry, forest products and other aspects of rural and leisure studies research. Indexes articles, government reports and other forestry publications.
Coverage Dates: 1973 - present

more... less...

Provided by CABI (CAB Direct)
1910 - present

PsycInfo
Comprehensive collection of records for research articles, book content, and dissertations covering all areas of psychology: animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention. Searching can be done in English, French, German, Portuguese, and Spanish. Dates: 1887 - present
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Full-text and abstract/index: 1975-present

Search with Google Scholar

A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU Libraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:

How to use Google Scholar (without Paying for the Articles)

More Subject Database Options

Here are some more databases to use to find research in the social sciences as it relates to specific topics related to the environment and natural resources.

AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. There are full-text links to over 300 journals in Academic Search Premier.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels. Includes thesaurus. Links are provided for full text of most articles and documents.
Coverage Dates: 1966 - present
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Coverage Dates: 1965 - present
Trail Planning, Construction, and Maintenance
A bibliography of publications relating to the planning, design, construction, and maintenance of all types of trails. Includes trail use studies.
Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications
Peer reviewed, published research findings of the U.S. Forest Service. Includes agency publications, articles, conference proceedings, and books whose authors are employed by the Forest Service.
Urban Forestry: A Bibliography
A bibliography on the history of urban forestry, urban forest legislation, the benefits of urban forests, selection and planting of trees, maintenance of the urban forest, planning and management, and urban forestry programs. Published in 1980
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest)
Index to journal articles, government reports, books, dissertations and conference papers covering all biological and ecological aspects of marine and freshwater environments.
Coverage Dates: 1978 - present
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide (EBSCOhost)
Index to journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of fish and fisheries research.
Coverage Dates: 1971 - present

FES 522: Research Methods in Social Science (Tynon)

Course Instructor

Your Librarian

Using This Guide for Your Assignment

Top Four Databases for Finding Journals (and Research Articles)

Search with Google Scholar

More Subject Database Options

Resources

Help

Explore Collections

Browse Materials