Skip to main content

Citations 101

On this page

You will learn about standalone tools, called citation managers, that can help you stay organized throughout the research project, and are especially helpful as you create citations. 

What are Citation Managers?

Citation management tools allow researchers to:

  • Save and organize sources
  • Take notes
  • Create bibliographies
  • Add in-text citations, footnotes or endnotes.

They work across platforms and on multiple browsers. They allow you to save all of your sources to one place, no matter where you find them.

Some citation managers also allow you to save and share your resources with others

Why Use Citation Managers?

Citation management software makes it easy for you to:

  • Keep all your useful sources in one place.
  • Seamlessly access your saved sources during the writing process.
  • Automatically generate bibliographies or works cited lists in many styles.
  • Take notes on sources, and find those notes again.

Zotero

Zotero is a free tool you can use with Firefox, Safari or Chrome that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use and lives in your web browser where you do your work. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections (or groups you can share with collaborators) for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word (for Mac or Windows) or OpenOffice.Creating a library from articles in a database with Zotero

Learn more about Zotero at this guide or come to a Zotero workshop at the library (see schedule at right).

Mendeley

Mendeley is free academic software (works with Windows, Mac & Linux) that allows you to manage, share, read, annotate and cite your research papers.  It is also a research network to manage your papers online, discover research trends and statistics, and to connect to like-minded researchers.  Using Mendeley you can also create in-text citations and bibliographies in many citation styles.

Take notes and highlight PDFs within your Mendeley library

Learn more about Mendeley using this guide or come to a Mendeley workshop at the library (see schedule at right).

EndNote

EndNote is a personal citation/bibliography manager software program that helps researchers organize references in a library.  References in the library can be used to easily create bibliographies and format references in word processing software.  The most robust and fully-featured version of EndNote is the client version, which is loaded onto an individual users machine (a multi-user option is also available). EndNote costs $105 for OSU users.Creating bibliographies in Word with EndNote

Learn more about EndNote at this guide or come to an EndNote workshop at the library (see schedule at right).

Next Module