Skip to main content

OSU Libraries


This guide provides an overview of EndNote along with training, support and purchase information for EndNote.


Uta Hussong-Christian
Contact me (preferably via email) to set up an appointment.

EndNote Alerts

*NEW Proxy URL* for Find Full Text (Fall 2015)

If you have EndNote's Find Full Text functionality set up, please note that OSU Libraries has a new authentication URL. And while you are at it, check that your OpenURL path is also correct. Please make the appropriate change to your settings per the info below:

OpenURL path:

Authentication URL:


EndNote Library Sharing Has Arrived (10/2014)

You can finally share your EndNote library with 14 other users. Each user must have EndNote X7.2 (upgrade free for EndNote X7 users).


Check out other EndNote News.


This guide provides an overview for working with EndNote (see video on this page), guidance on getting references into EndNote, training and support options, purchase options and EndNote news.

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a personal citation/bibliography manager software program that helps researchers organize references in a database (called a library).  References in the library can be used to easily create bibliographies and format references in word processing software.  The most robust and fully-featured version of EndNote is the client version, which is loaded onto an individual user's machine.

EndNote Basic is the web-based version of EndNote and can be accessed, for free, by any OSU student, faculty or staff.  EndNote is not as fully-featured as the client version but all of the basic features are available:  references can be collected and organized in an online library and these references can be used to easily create bibliographies and format references in word processing software.  Additionally, EndNote client users can sync references between the client version and EndNote Basic.

References can be added to an EndNote library in many different ways:  direct export from databases, journal websites and Google Scholar, by reference file import and by hand-entry.

Checkout EndNote X7!

A 4-minute overview of EndNote X7.