Find Articles - BI 319 - Theory, Practice, and Discourse in the Life Sciences

Start Broadly - 1Search

Search 1Search to find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to or that we can borrow for you for free.

Advanced search - If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching.
Use the drop-down menu to access the journal title search to find specific journal titles like the Journal of Ecology.
Click Databases A-Z to find specialized subject search tools like Web of Science or Academic Search Complete.

Google Scholar

A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU Libraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:

How to use Google Scholar (without Paying for the Articles)

Recommended Databases for Integrative Biology

PubMed
An extensive collection of research article records and some online book records covering biomedical science (MEDLINE), and related life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering topics. MEDLINE records are enhanced with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH terms). Search access to the database is free to all (no OSU affiliation required), and some records include links to free full-text. Records represent about 40 languages.

Proxy enabled to ensure optimal access for ONID users
Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. You can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The full text of articles is only available by linking out via the Find It @ OSU link.
1965-present
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest)
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements.Abstracts and index: 1967-present

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Index to journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of wildlife research.
Coverage Dates: 1935 - present

Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide (EBSCOhost)
Index to journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of fish and fisheries research.
Coverage Dates: 1971 - present
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present

BI 319 - Theory, Practice, and Discourse in the Life Sciences

Librarian

Start Broadly - 1Search

Google Scholar

Recommended Databases for Integrative Biology

Resources

Help

Explore Collections

Browse Materials