LibGuides: WGSS 223: Introduction to Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Quick Start

Example Search Strategies

Looking for ideas for searching?

Try variations on your keywords and try different terms:

gender fluidity
two-spirit identity
non-binary
queer
transmasculine
transmasc
trans men
transfeminine
transfemme
transfeminism
trans
transgender

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Locating articles:

If the full-text of the article does not appear in the database, click the 360 Link to Full Text button to determine if OSU has a paper copy or an electronic copy of the journal. If we don't, request the article from InterLibrary Loan (Free!).

1Search This link opens in a new window
Use 1Search to discover articles, books, documents, videos and more held at OSU Libraries and available through Summit.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains abstracts and full text for hundreds of the important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more. You can also find many full-text monographs and books. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is included and this database provides an LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University, Project MUSE is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
Women's Studies International (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports research and curriculum development in the areas of women studies, sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Coverage is from 1965-present.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Abstracts and index: 1963-present

Writing & Citing Resources

OSU's Writing Center Make an appointment or review their online help.

Many sites can guide you in using MLA. Especially helpful is Purdue's OWL site.

Take a practice quiz to learn more about how to and why we cite.

Check out these suggestions for determining if your journal article or book is scholarly.

Not all but many journal articles have a similar structure. Understanding this structure may facilitate your understanding, interpretation and analysis of the author(s)' writing. This web site details a common structure that authors use:
http://unilearning.uow.edu.au/reading/1d.html.

Libraries

WGSS 223: Introduction to Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Librarian

Example Search Strategies

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Writing & Citing Resources

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches