Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Art and Photography*

Student Art on Display

Student artwork on display in downtown Corvallis

Reference Sources

Art and Architecture Thesaurus Getty Research Institute. Searchable database of terms used in art and architecture. Thousands of terms are added and edited every year.

Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)  Getty Research Institute.  Searchable database of artists' names.  Useful when you don't know the when or where of an artist.

Selected Websites

Gateways

ArtSource   Includes image collection, museum links, and more  

Selected websites 

Archives of American Art  Smithsonian's archive of primary sources (letters, diaries, photographs, oral histories, and more)

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art History)

Art Images

Web Gallery of Art Virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries.

Art Images for College Teaching.  Art and architectural works in the public domain

NY Public Library Digital Gallery  NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.

Museums with large collections of digitized images: Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, Metropolitan Museum of ArtJ. Paul Getty Museum, Louvre (Paris),  Atlas Gallery (London) , Tate (London).