LibGuides: *Geology & Geophysics*: Finding Resources

Start Broadly - 1Search

Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to. If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

Google Scholar

A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU Libraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:

How to use Google Scholar (without Paying for the Articles)

Databases & Websites

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village (Compendex) covers all areas of engineering including: acoustical; aerospace; automotive; biological; chemical; civil; computer; electrical; electronic; energy;environmental; geologic; mechanical; metallurgical; mining; and robotics.
Abstracts and index: 1970-present
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
SciFinder Scholar provides electronic searching of Chemical Abstracts (CA) and the CAS Registry file. CA is the world's largest and most up-to-date collection of chemical information, with more than 20 million abstracts of journal articles, patents, and more. CAS Registry contains more than 24,000,000 substance records, including more than 16,000,000 organic and inorganic substances and 4,000,000 biosequences. The Registry is the world's largest collection of organic substance records.
1907-present
Coverage Dates: 1907 - present
National Technical Reports Library
The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers online, free and open access to these authenticated government technical reports. Technical reports and documents in its repository may be available online for free either from the issuing federal agency, the U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Federal Digital System website, or through search engines.
SciELO – Scientific Electronic Library Online
SciELO, an international cooperation program aiming at the development of open access scientific communication covering all areas of knowledge It runs over the Open Preprint Systems (OPS) software which is a free, not-for-profit online archive and distribution server preprints developed and maintained by the Public Knowledge Project (PKP).
NASA Technical Reports Server
The NASA STI Repository (also known as the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)) provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
TRAIL (Technical Report Archives & Image Library)
Search U.S. government technical reports digitized or harvested by TRAIL.

Finding Fulltext can be a challenge

It can be challenging to find the full text of an article, report or data. WorldCat is where many libraries worldwide share their holding records. When seeking hard to find resources, it is useful to ask yourself "Who/what group would have written or contracted a report on this area/topic?"

Here are some other basic strategies:

Libraries

Geology & Geophysics

Librarian

Start Broadly - 1Search

Google Scholar

Databases & Websites

Finding Fulltext can be a challenge

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches