Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology 315/316: Methods I and Methods II

Recommended Databases

The following databases index thousands of scholarly journal articles. This literature often has the most up-to-date research in the field. Many journals have the full-text available online. If you are asked to pay for an article or it is not online, please request the article through interlibrary loan (ILL). ILL is paid by OSU. Articles are emailed to you typically within a day or so. 

Get Articles Online (or Request an Article PDF)

Locating articles: In most of the library's databases, look for this button to access your article online.

 360 link to full text

IF you get a message that indicates "No full text" or "Request this item", click the Request from Interlibrary Loan link to ask the library to get the article PDF for you (see image below).

image of request from interlibrary loan link

Four Steps to Set Up Your Google Scholar Preferences

Step 1:  To make Google Scholar talk to the OSU Libraries collection, go to the Settings link, located on the top left corner of the page:

Step 2:  On the upper right side of the Settings bar, click the gear icon.

 

Step 3:  On the left-hand side of the Scholar Settings page, choose Library links.

Step 4:  Next either search for Oregon State University in the search box or simply use the checkbox next to Oregon State University. Make sure you click Save.

Google Scholar and Find it at OSU

Now, when you do a search, your results list will look like this.  Click on the Find it at OSU link to get to either the full-text of the article or an easy option for requesting the article through interlibrary loan.  Notice that if the article doesn't have a Find it at OSU link, you can click on the More symbol (two arrow-like symbols) to try and Find at OSU.

screenshot of how to locate the find at osu option on Google Scholar

 

Sometimes Google Scholar results do not have the Find it at OSU link. However, if there is a PDF item included in the search result, that will take you directly to a PDF- no OSU access needed.

screenshot of how to access pdfs  if there is no Find it at osu link