Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Botany, Gardening, and Horticulture in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Rare Books

Gardening and horticulture represented across centuries in the rare book collections, from the 16th to the 21st, with specific emphasis on fruit gardening and flower gardening. Many of these are spectacularly illustrated. To find related items, limit your scope to "Special Collections and Archives" and search garden*, horticultur, or foreign language terms such as jardin

The following is a partial list of some notable items related to gardening or horticulture in SCARC, sorted by date-oldest.

The following is a partial list of materials on fruit in the rare book collections, sorted by date-oldest:

Archival and Manuscript Collections

There are numerous archival and manuscript collections related to gardening and horticulture in SCARC. Most of these focus on research of OSU Department of Horticulture faculty and students. To view all of the related collections, search garden or horticulture in our collections database.

Nursery and Seed Trade Catalogues, 1832-1999
The Nursery and Seed Trade Catalogues Collection consists of more than 2200 flower and seed catalogues produced by nurseries and seed companies in the United States, Great Britain, Europe and Asia from the mid-19th century through the 20th century. An on-line exhibit -- A Short History of the Seed & NurseryCatalogue in Europe and The U.S. -- includes images of selected catalogues from the collection.

Horticulture Department Records, 1908-1994
The Horticulture Department Records document the teaching, research, and extension activities in horticulture at Oregon State University and consist primarily of correspondence, reports, and administrative records. Various horticultural topics are addressed including fruits and nuts; vegetable crops; nurseries and ornamental plants; greenhouses; Christmas trees; and weed control. The Horticulture Department was established in 1909.

Horticulture Department Photographs, 1900-1980
The Horticulture Department Photographs consist of images taken and assembled by horticulture faculty for teaching and research and depict a variety of horticultural topics as well as the Oregon Agricultural College campus. The Department of Horticulture and Botany was established in 1888; a separate Horticulture Department formed in 1909.

Oregon State Horticultural Society Records, 1890-1964
These records were generated and assembled by the Oregon State Horticultural Society and document the origins and development of the organization.

Melvin N. Westwood Papers, 1894-2005
The Melvin N. Westwood Papers consist of materials generated and collected by Westwood documenting his research on tree fruits (primarily pears, apples, prunes, and peaches), plant phenology and the history of horticulture in Oregon. Westwood was a faculty member in the Oregon State University Horticulture Department and Agricultural Experiment Station from 1960 to 1983.

William A. Frazier Papers, 1918-1996
The William A. Frazier Papers consist of records that document Frazier's career and activities pertaining to horticultural studies and instruction.

Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection, ca. 1860-present
The collection contains numerous files on horticulture activities, primarily in Box 88. 

Arthur G.B. Bouquet Collection, circa 1880-1993
Bouquet graduated from Oregon Agricultural College in 1906 and was a faculty member in the Oregon State College Horticulture Department from 1909 until his retirement in 1950.