LibGuides: *Rangeland Sciences*: Find Articles

Recommended Databases for Rangeland Sciences

CAB Abstracts
This is the premier index for all areas of agriculture including range topics. Adding "PP350" the CABICODE for "Grasslands and Rangelands" can be useful. Indexes articles, government reports and other forestry publications.
Coverage Dates: 1973 - present
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)
This database indexes the holdings of the National Agriculture Library of the United States. It is NOT a full-text database however, there are links to the full-text of many of the items indexed herein.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of wildlife research.
Index only: 1935-present
Concurrent Users: 5
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)

Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements. Abstracts and index: 1967-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archival collection of journal articles that includes titles in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. It does not provide access to the most current issues of the journals. JSTOR's agreements with publishers include a gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years. OSU Libraries subscribes to all JSTOR Archive Collections, JSTOR Primary Sources Collections, and JSTOR Global Plants.

Other databases to try

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Greenfile serves as an informative resource for the interested novice.
Coverage Dates: mid-1960's - present

JSTOR Plant Science
JSTOR specializes in giving you access to the older years of journals. For studying the plants associated with rangelands, this can be a useful resource.
Coverage Dates: 1816 -

Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications This link opens in a new window
Treesearch contains the full-text of peer reviewed, published research findings of the U.S. Forest Service. It includes not only agency publications, but also articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books whose authors are employed by the Forest Service. As the USFS proceeds with retrospective digitization of its publications, these are also added to TreeSearch.
Coverage Dates: 2004 - present

Web of Science
Indexes thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines. You can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, author affliation and you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present

Finding the full text of an article

Look for the button to open the full article.

Options for getting to the PDF will open in a new window. Sometimes the link will take you to the journal, not the individual article. Use the citation information for the article to get to the right year, volume and issue of the journal.

If the library doesn't have it, request the article for free from Interlibrary Loan. On average, articles arrive digitally within one business day.

Libraries

Rangeland Sciences

Librarian

Recommended Databases for Rangeland Sciences

Other databases to try

Finding the full text of an article

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches