LibGuides: *Microbiology : Find Articles

Recommended Databases for Microbiology

Medline (EBSCOhost)
topics covered include clinical and experimental medicine; microbiology; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine.
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present
Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of topics include all science disciplines, includes cited reference searching
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)
covers environmental sciences topics, and contains a subset of databases that focus on microorganisms, microbial degradation, antibiotic activity and production, microbial toxins, soil microorganisms and environmental pollution.
Coverage Dates: 1967 - present

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index to research articles covering all areas of medicine including clinical and experimental medicine; dentistry; health care administration; microbiology; nursing; paramedical professions; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; psychiatry; psychology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine. PubMed is direct from the National Library of Medicine web site.
Abstracts and index: 1966-present
(Proxy enabled to ensure optimal access for ONID users)
Proxy enabled to ensure optimal access for ONID users

AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
covers agriculture topics
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) (part of ESI) This link opens in a new window
covers microorganisms, microbial degradation, antibiotic activity and production, microbial toxins, soil microorganisms and environmental pollution.
Coverage Dates: 1982 - present

Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) (part of ESPM)
covers bacteriology, including methodology, taxonomy, cell structure and function, antibiotics, antibacterial agents, and medical, animal and invertebrate bacteriology.
Coverage Dates: 1982 - present
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
covers all aspects of chemistry, requires free registration before you can begin to search.
Coverage Dates: 1907 - present