Search 1Search to find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to or that we can borrow for you for free.
To identify articles on kinesiology topics, start with these databases.
In most of the library's databases, look for this button (or a link with the FindIt@OSU text) to try and access your article online.
When looking for articles, you will see that some articles are available immediately online from our library in full text. First, click on the Online access link, then choose a full text link in the View Online section of the page to get the article online.
Adding LibKey Nomad to your preferred browser helps you go directly from the button (or link with this text) in search tools (e.g., databases, Google Scholar) to a page where you can download the article PDF (when OSU Libraries has paid or free access to the article). See the LibKey Nomad page image below to see where to grab the article PDF.
Additionally, when you are searching for sources on the web and LibKey Nomad is installed in your browser, you may see buttons like these that will help you access or request the full text of articles:
You may need to get articles or books that our library doesn't have.
If you see results that say Click to Request (usually in grey text), check the How to Get It section for the link to Request from Interlibrary Loan. When you complete this request, library staff will work to get this article to you as a PDF (if you request an item like a book, it will usually be physically delivered to the library of your choice or to your home if you are an Ecampus student). You will receive an email from the Interlibrary Loan department when your item is ready for online or physical retrieval.
Step 1: To make Google Scholar talk to the OSU Libraries collection, go to the Settings link, located on the top left corner of the page:
Step 2: Click the gear icon. Depending on your display, this icon may be on the upper right or on the bottom of the settings menu.
Step 3: On the left-hand side of the Scholar Settings page, choose Library links.
Step 4: Next either search for Oregon State University in the search box or simply use the checkbox next to Oregon State University. Make sure you click Save.
Now, when you do a search, your results list will look like this. Click on the Find it at OSU link to get to either the full-text of the article or an easy option for requesting the article through interlibrary loan. Notice that if the article doesn't have a Find it at OSU link, you can click on the More symbol (two arrow-like symbols) to try and Find at OSU.
Sometimes Google Scholar results do not have the Find it at OSU link. However, if there is a PDF item included in the search result, that will take you directly to a PDF- no OSU access needed.
