- Borrow & Request
- Collections
- Help
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
- About
|
The Guin Library’s extensive art collection was established, and is continuously enhanced, through gift funds raised by generous supporters.
Artwork found at the Guin Library generally share one or more characteristics: coastal landscapes, marine life, Oregon, maritime, and Pacific Northwest Indigenous American themes are prominent within the collection. The Guin Library celebrates our vibrant local art community and displays works by several artists who call Lincoln County their home.
Stop by today, check out a notebook with more information, and take a self-guided tour to admire all of the incredible art inside the beautiful Guin library! For information about OSU’s Northwest Art Collection located at Valley Library, visit: library.oregonstate.edu/nwart |
The Green Mermaid
artist unknown
stone
year unknown
The algorithmic beauty of seaweeds, sponges, and corals by
This book gives a state-of-the-art overview of modeling growth and form of marine sessile organisms - such as stromatolites, algae, and metazoans including stony corals, hydrocorals, octocorals, and sponges -, using large-scale computing techniques, scientific visualization, methods for analyzing 2D and 3D forms, and particle-based modeling techniques. It originates from the workshop on Modeling Growth and Form of Marine Sessile Organisms, held at the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis, Santa Barbara, California, August 1999. Experts from various disciplines including developmental biology, ecology, computer science, physics and mathematics, who have research interests in modeling the development of these organisms have been invited to contribute. The book describes all the steps required to develop and experimentally validate morphological models including collecting biological information and methods for specifying and comparing forms. Examples are given of how models are currently being applied to simulate growth and form of marine sessile organisms. Potential applications of growth models and morphological analyses in modern and paleo-bio-monitoring, the detection of environmental change, and the conservation and restoration of marine ecosystems and aquaculture are addressed. The combination of simulation models with laboratory and field experiments provides a powerful tool to obtain insights on how the growth forms of marine organisms emerge from physical, genetic and environmental influences.
Antarctic fishes by
The break-up of the supercontinent of Gondwana and the formation of the Southern Ocean resulted in the creation of some of the strangest species imaginable -- the Antarctic fish fauna. The waters surrounding the southern continent are home to an enormous number of fish species rarely seen by anyone outside the worlds of Antarctic research and commercial fisheries. This book describes the physical characteristics, habits, and distribution of fifty-four species of these fascinating fish. Each description is accompanied by a delicate full-page illustration executed in the unique gyotaku method as employed by master artist Boshu Nagase. The result is an impressive tribute to these little-known fishes. Antarctic Fishes is an important contribution to our knowledge of a unique environment and extraordinary species equipped with their own "antifreeze." A book for anyone seeking to truly understand the diversity of fishes in the world, Antarctic Fishes will also find a welcome home among fans of Asian and nature art, as well as the growing number of gyotaku collectors.
Art forms from the ocean by
At the nexus of art and science, this dazzling new edition of Ernst Haeckel's first work reintroduces the genius of an enigmatic scientist and passionate observer of the natural world. Although original editions of this book are extremely rare, it is now available for the first time in a paperback edition, beautifully reproducing his drawings and watercolours. While the variety and detail of Haeckel's drawings display an impressive understanding of biological structure, the skill with which Haeckel drew these tiny, aquatic protozoa renders them genuine works of art. This volume features commentary and descriptions of each of the radiolarians from Haeckel's work. Illustrated throughout
Art forms in nature by
Multitude of strangely beautiful natural forms: Radiolaria, Foraminifera, Ciliata, diatoms, calcareous sponges, Siphonophora, star corals, starfishes, Protozoa, flagellates, brown seaweed, jellyfishes, sea-lilies, moss animals, sea-urchins, glass sponges, leptomedusae, horny corals, trunkfishes, true sea slugs, anthomedusae horseshoe crabs, sea-cucumbers, octopuses, bats, orchids, sea wasps, seahorse, a dragonfish, a frogfish, much more. All images in black and white.
By the sea : coloring book
This Simple 1-2-3(tm) Color and Frame - By the Sea coloring book features the art of Ana Davis. Whimsical coloring pages fill this book - from sea turtles, to starfish, to lighthouses, each page holds an imaginative coloring experience. 8 x10 inch, perforated one sided pages allows easy tear out to frame or share. Thick paper prevents marker or pen from bleeding through to the next page. Spiral binding allows pages to lay flat while coloring. Images range in complexity. This coloring book is made for grown-ups but all ages can enjoy! Join millions of adults around the world who are rediscovering the simple relaxation and joy of coloring!
Cabinet of natural curiosities : locupletissimi rerum naturalium thesauri 1734-1765 : based on the copy in the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, the Hague by 
Columbia River basketry : gift of the ancestors, gift of the earth by
Baskets made by the people of the mid-Columbia River are among the finest examples of Indian textile art in North America, and they are included in the collections of most major museums. The traditional designs and techniques of construction reveal a great artistic heritage that links modern basketmakers to their ancestors. Yet baskets are also everyday objects of a utilitarian nature that reveal much about mid-Columbia culture---a flat twined bag has greatest value when it is plump with dried roots, a coiled basket when full of huckleberries. In Columbia River Basketry, Mary Schlick writes about the weavers who at the time of European contact lived along the Columbia River from just above its confluence with the Yakima River westward to the vicinity of present-day Portland, Oregon, and Indian groups living along the river. She presents the baskets in the context of the lives of the people who created and used them. She also writes about the descendants of the early basket weavers, to whom basketry skills have been passed and from whom she herself learned to make baskets. Schlick blends mythology, personal reminiscences, materials, and basketry techniques. Written with deep understanding and appreciation of the artists and their work, Columbia River Basketry will be an inspirational sourcebook for basket weavers and other craftspeople. It will also serve as an invaluable reference for scholars, curators, and collectors in identifying, dating, and interpreting examples of Columbia River basketry.
The Continuum encyclopedia of native art : worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and native North America by
This comprehensive reference text covers the often misunderstood area of aesthetics, anthropology and mythology within tribal or indigenous non-Western art. Including hundreds of entries and illustrations, it includes art from the cultures and tribal kingdoms of: Nigeria, Australia, Indonesia and Polynesia, Western and Central Africa, Canada and Alaska, and the continental United States.
Cruisin' the fossil coastline : the travels of an artist and a scientist along the shores of the prehistoric Pacific by
In this long-awaited sequel Kirk Johnson and Ray Troll are back on a road trip-driving, flying, and boating their way from Baja, California to northern Alaska in search of the fossil secrets of North America's Pacific coast. They hunt for fossils, visit museums, meet scientists and paleonerds, and sleuth out untold stories of extinct worlds. As one of the oldest coasts on earth, the west coast is a rich ground for fossil discovery. Its wonders include extinct marine mammals, pygmy mammoths, oyster bears, immense ammonites, shark-bitten camels, polar dinosaurs, Alaskan palms, California walruses, and a lava-baked rhinoceros. Join in for a fossil journey through deep time and discover how the west coast became the place it is today.
The curious world of seaweed by
Marine algae are the supreme eco-engineers of life: they oxygenate the waters, create habitat for countless other organisms, and form the base of a food chain that keeps our planet unique in the universe as we know it. In this beautiful volume Josie Iselin explores both the artistic and the biological presence of sixteen seaweeds and kelps that live in the thin region where the Pacific Ocean converges with the North American continent--a place of incomparable richness. Each species receives a detailed description of its structure, ecological importance, and humans' scientific inquiry into it, told in scientifically illuminating yet deeply reverent and inspired prose. Throughout the writings are historical botanical illustrations and Iselin's signature, Marimekko-like portraits of each specimen that reveal their vibrant colors--whether rosy, "olivaceous," or grass-green--and whimsical shapes. Iselin posits that we can learn not only about the seaweeds but alsofrom them: their resilience, their resourcefulness, their poetry and magic.
Eye for detail : images of plants and animals in art and science, 1500-1630 by
Image-transforming techniques such as close-up, time lapse, and layering are generally associated with the age of photography, but as Florike Egmond shows in this book, they were already being used half a millennium ago. Exploring the world of natural history drawings from the Renaissance, Eye for Detail shows how the function of identification led to image manipulation techniques that will look uncannily familiar to the modern viewer. Egmond shows how the format of images in nature studies changed dramatically during the Renaissance period, as high-definition naturalistic representation became the rule during a robust output of plant and animal drawings. She examines what visual techniques like magnification can tell us about how early modern Europeans studied and ordered living nature, and she focuses on how attention to visual detail was motivated by an overriding question: the secret of the origins of life. Beautifully and precisely illustrated throughout, this volume serves as an arresting guide to the massive European collections of nature drawings and an absorbing study of natural history art of the sixteenth century.
Fish in art by
From the Dutch artist Jacob Gillig's many still lifes to Renoir's The Fish Monger and Manet's Fishing, fish have inspired artists for thousands of years. They appear in the work of the old Dutch and Flemish masters as well as in the creations of French, English, and American painters. Yet the social and cultural significance of fishes' representation in art has been overlooked. Christine E. Jackson remedies this deficiency in Fish in Art, an original perspective on the artistic legacy of fish and the fishing industry. Surveying paintings from 2000 B.C. to the present, Jackson examines how representations of fish in art have evolved. She also delves into depictions of fish in kitchenware and tableware. Alongside her analysis of these artworks, she explores the social and historical issues that have engaged artists, including religious decrees on when to eat fish, the legacies of cod wars, and the rise and fall of particular ports. Widening her scope, she considers the ethics of catching fish and the ongoing industrial changes in the canning, ice, and salt industries, grounding her artistic study in the physical conditions of fishing and the fish trade, as well as the preparation, cooking, eating, and storage of these gilled creatures. Packed with over two hundred images, Fish in Art will capture the interest of fishermen, natural historians, and art students alike.
A guide to the world of jellyfish by 
Gyotaku; the art and technique of the Japanese fish print by
"Gyotaku is a way the Japanese used to record their catch of the day. The fish is rubbed with ink and then an impression is printed on rice paper, definitive enough to see the scales, eyes and record the length as well as the type of fish. It becomes a work of art and is often displayed in the home. There are a couple of ways to do make the prints, via a paper mold and using several types of ink."
Gyotaku prints of fish and crustaceans in Southeast Alaska by
Join Julia Tinker--avid explorer, angler, and artist--in her travels as she recounts her multi-year journey captaining her boat through the beautiful waters surrounding Ketchikan and Prince of Wales. Her mission is to delve into the diverse ecosystems and catch fish and crustaceans for her gyotaku prints, a traditional Japanese art form using fish pressings painted over with watercolor. This book is one of the few books on this popular art form. It is a visual adventure through gorgeous paintings and color photographs; a vibrant depiction of life at sea in southeast Alaska--as well as a celebration of the importance of marine life for the indigenous communities in the area.
Haeckel's embryos : images, evolution, and fraud by
Pictures from the past powerfully shape current views of the world. In books, television programs, and websites, new images appear alongside others that have survived from decades ago. Among the most famous are drawings of embryos by the Darwinist Ernst Haeckel in which humans and other vertebrates begin identical, then diverge toward their adult forms. But these icons of evolution are notorious, too: soon after their publication in 1868, a colleague alleged fraud, and Haeckel's many enemies have repeated the charge ever since. His embryos nevertheless became a textbook staple until, in 1997, a biologist accused him again, and creationist advocates of intelligent design forced his figures out. How could the most controversial pictures in the history of science have become some of the most widely seen? In Haeckel's Embryos, Nick Hopwood tells this extraordinary story in full for the first time. He tracks the drawings and the charges against them from their genesis in the nineteenth century to their continuing involvement in innovation in the present day, and from Germany to Britain and the United States. Emphasizing the changes worked by circulation and copying, interpretation and debate, Hopwood uses the case to explore how pictures succeed and fail, gain acceptance and spark controversy. Along the way, he reveals how embryonic development was made a process that we can see, compare, and discuss, and how copying--usually dismissed as unoriginal--can be creative, contested, and consequential. With a wealth of expertly contextualized illustrations, Haeckel's Embryos recaptures the shocking novelty of pictures that enthralled schoolchildren and outraged priests, and highlights the remarkable ways these images kept on shaping knowledge as they aged.
Image of the sea : oceanic consciousness in the romantic century by
This book explores the unprecedented surge or oceanic feeling in the aesthetic expression of the romantic century. As secular thought began to displace the certainties of a sacral universe, the oceans that give life to our planet offered a symbol of eternity, rooted in the experience of nature rather than Biblical tradition. Images of the sea permeated the minds of the early Romantics, became a significant ingredient of romantic expression, and continued to emerge in the language, literature, art, and music of the nineteenth century. These pages document the evidence for this oceanic consciousness in some of the most creative minds of that century.
Images of science : a history of scientific illustration by
This spectacularly illustrated book chronicles the exciting progress of scientific investigation through the ages as it has been mirrored in the art used to document its ideas and breakthroughs. From the cave paintings of prehistory through the ancient civilizations of Egypt, Assyria, and Greece to Renaissance drawings and modern microscopy, these images reveal the hidden influences and cultural pressures of their times in addition to chronicling and communicating a wealth of contemporary observation and knowledge. The author has organized each section of this survey by taking some of the earliest surviving examples of illustration, and moving through time to the present. Thus separate chapters focus on the animal world, herbs and the birth of botany, physics and the science of non-living matter, mankind in the world; the world in space; and other seminal topics. This organization, and its freedom from a fixed chronology, has enabled the author to show science actually shaping its own story, with surprisingly sophisticated images emerging centuries in advance of today's high-tech instrumentation. The illustrations--most of which are from the British Library collections--have been chosen from among the best preserved in the world, some never before reproduced. All help to show how scientific illustration first arose; how it mirrored in many ways the value systems of the science of its time; how images were borrowed, transformed, and occasionally came to predict future discoveries; and how science evolved from one breathtaking era to the next. This is a work that will stimulate and inspire all readers interested in art and science, and the ingenuity of the scientific mind.
Indian rock art of the Columbia Plateau by
From the river valleys of interior British Columbia south to the hills of northern Oregon and east to the continental divide in western Montana, hundreds of cliffs and boulders display carved and painted designs created by ancient artists who inhabited this area, the Columbia Plateau, as long as seven thousand years ago. Expressing a vital social and spiritual dimension in the lives of these hunter-gathers, rock art captivates us with its evocative power and mystery. At once an irreplaceable yet fragile cultural resource, it documents Native histories, customs, and visions through thousands of years. This valuable reference and guidebook addresses basic questions of what petroglyphs and pictographs are, how they were produced, and how archaeologists classify and date them. James Keyser identifies five regions on the Columbia Plateau, each with its own variant of the rock art style identifiable as belonging exclusively to the region. He describes for each region the setting and scope of the rock art along with its design characteristics and possible meaning. Through line drawings, photographs, and detailed maps he provides a guide to the sites where rock art can be viewed. In western Montana, rock art motifs express the ritualistic seeking of a spirit helper from the natural world. In interior British Columbia, rayed arcs above the heads of human figures demonstrate possession of a guardian spirit. Twin figures on the central Columbia Plateau reveal another belief--the special power of twins--and hunting scenes celebrate success of the chase. The grimacing evocative face of Tsagiglalal, in lower Columbia pictographs, testifies to the Plateau Indians' "death cult" response to the European diseases that decimated their villages between 1700 and 1840. On the southeastern Plateau, images of horse-back riders mark the adoption, after 1700 of the equestrian and cultural habits of the northwestern Great Plains Indians. Despite geographic differences in emphasis, similarities in design and technique link the drawings of all five regions. Human figures, animals depicting numerous species on the Plateau, geometric motifs, mysterious beings, and tally marks, whether painted or carved, appear throughout the Columbia Plateau.
John Piper in the 1930s : abstraction on the beach by
John Piper was one of the leading Modernist artists of the twentieth century. This in-depth study covers the years of his early career, when he was largely working on the south coast of England. His engagement with the work of Picasso and Braque, his response to the onset of war, and the resulting tension between abstraction and realism in his painting are engagingly explored.
Master class in seascape painting by
Gives step-by-step instructions on painting seascapes, with suggestions on portraying big waves, clear water, fog, moonlight, and the glow of the sun
Monet : the Seine and the sea, 1878-1883 by
Monet was the most remarkable of all the Impressionist landscape painters. And perhaps at no point in his career was his work more varied than in the years between 1878 and 1883. During this time he produced some 300 paintings, many of them are amongst his finest works. His painting encompassed motifs of village and river, cliff and wave, as well as expressive portraits and rich still-lifes. For much of this period Monet lived at Vétheuil, a village on the river Seine between Paris and the English Channel. In this tranquil setting, Monet painted in all seasons. He tackled orchards in spring, expansive fields of corn, and the bare trees of the winter months. Among his most memorable paintings are those he made of the ice-floes on the Seine during the great thaw of 1880. On the Normandy coast he painted views straight out to sea, as well as vistas of the beach and the sublime presence of the great cliffs. Monet: the Seine and the Sea shows Monet the innovator, the daring Impressionist challenging his brush to record the shifting moods of nature, as well as Monet the competitor, taking on the example of previous painters and reshaping their motifs in his vigorously personal painting. 150 colour illustrations
An ocean garden : the secret life of seaweed by
In her captivating new book, artist and avid beachcomber Josie Iselin returns to the seashore to reveal the unexpected beauty of seaweed. Produced on a flatbed scanner, Iselin's vibrant portraits of ocean flora reveal the exquisite color and extraordinary forms of more than 200 specimens gathered from tidal pools along the California and Maine coasts. Her engaging text, which accompanies the images, blends personal observation and philosophical musings with scientific fact. Like her previous books, An Ocean Garden: The Secret Life of Seaweed is a poetic and compelling tribute to the natural world and the wonder it evokes.
People of the river : native arts of the Oregon territory by
People of the River is the first major publication to focus exclusively on the rich artistic traditions of the Native Americans who traditionally lived along the lower Columbia River from the mouth of the Snake River to the Pacific Ocean. In this richly illustrated volume, author Bill Mercer eloquently describes the Columbia River art style as an indigenous development that emerged over the course of countless generations and whose forms reveal a unique combination of designs, motifs, materials, and techniques. The book includes more than two hundred objects organized into sections that focus on sculptural forms, basketry, and beadwork spanning the pre-contact era to the middle of the twentieth century. People of the River features many objects that have never before been published and provides keen insight into a previously unrecognized area of Native American art. With insightful texts, lavish reproductions, and an extensive bibliography, People of the River promises to be a key resource on this compelling body of work for years to come. Bill Mercer is curator of Native American art at the Portland Art Museum, where he developed the extensive permanent installations that make up the museum's Center for Native American Art.
Planet ocean : a story of life, the sea, and dancing to the fossil record by
This work offers down-to-earth descriptions of present scientific theories in palaeontology.
Plastic ocean : art and science responses to marine pollution by
Our oceans are in an ecological crisis due to their contamination with millions of tons of toxic microplastic particles. In just a few years, the volume of microplastic particles will exceed that of plankton in our oceans and turn them into a huge sea of plastic. This publication brings together numerous international art projects related to environmental activities, DIY biotechnology, and science, and draws attention to the irreversible destruction of our marine ecosystems - the current threat posed by the loss of marine animal biodiversity, for example, or the decline in oxygen production due to massive plankton loss. It also presents current scientific findings on sustainable alternatives to plastic.
The printer's catch : an artist's guide to Pacific Coast edible marine life by
"This classic book on the Japanese art of fish printing known as Gyotaku gives information on 32 of the most commercially important fish and shellfish families. There is at least one full-page Gyotaku fish print for each family. It also includes background on fish structure, biology, ecology, and commercial fishing for each family. This is a jointly produced reprint by Sea Challengers, Inc. and North Atlantic Books."
Rapture of the deep : the art of Ray Troll by
For more than two decades, Ray Troll has been luring, hooking, and landing fans around the world with his zany, irreverent, and often surreal art. Featured in museums, galleries, and books, as well as on immensely popular T-shirts, his work--part natural history adventure and part underground comic--depicts beautiful and accurately drawn fish of all kinds, Northwest Coast totems, Freud and Darwin, fossils, resurrections of extinct animals, and much more. Rapture of the Deep collects some of Troll's best-known art along with many images never before published. The book makes powerful connections between biological diversity, the evolution of life on earth, and the careless habits of people. Rapture of the Deep celebrates Troll's vision with legendary works including "Spawn Till You Die," "Life's a Fish and Then You Fry," and "Bassackwards," in which fish use money, liquor, and literature as bait to lure humans. Troll's running commentary reveals the thought and inspiration behind his art. Writer Brad Matsen, Troll's longtime coconspirator, adds a lively introduction to the art and life of his "sole" brother.
Ray Troll's shocking fish tales : fish, romance, and death in pictures by
First published in 1991 by Alaska Northwest, this book introduced a new audience to the often edgy, always observant and colorful fish art made semi-famous by the T-shirts and cards hauled out of the Northwest by fans of this Ketchikan artist. The mysteries of the deep, the strange, the hideous and the wonderful all appear on the canvas and in the words of this highly original, wacky work. Full-color throughout.
Resurrecting the shark : a scientific obsession and the mavericks who solved the mystery of a 270-million-year-old fossil by
A prehistoric mystery. A fossil so mesmerizing that it boggled the minds of scientists for more than a century--until a motley crew of modern day shark fanatics decided to try to bring the monster-predator back to life. In 1993, Alaskan artist and paleo-shark enthusiast Ray Troll stumbled upon the weirdest fossil he had ever seen--a platter-sized spiral of tightly wound shark teeth. This chance encounter in the basement of the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County sparked Troll's obsession with Helicoprion, a mysterious monster from deep time. In 2010, tattooed undergraduate student and returning Iraq War veteran Jesse Pruitt became seriously smitten with a Helicoprion fossil in a museum basement in Idaho. These two bizarre-shark disciples found each other, and an unconventional band of collaborators grew serendipitously around them, determined to solve the puzzle of the mysterious tooth whorl once and for all. Helicoprion was a Paleozoic chondrichthyan about the size of a modern great white shark, with a circular saw of teeth centered in its lower jaw--a feature unseen in the shark world before or since. For some ten million years, long before the Age of Dinosaurs, Helicoprion patrolled the shallow seas around the supercontinent Pangaea as the apex predator of its time. Just a few tumultuous years after Pruitt and Troll met, imagination, passion, scientific process, and state-of-the-art technology merged into an unstoppable force that reanimated the remarkable creature--and made important new discoveries. In this groundbreaking book, Susan Ewing reveals these revolutionary insights into what Helicoprion looked like and how the tooth whorl functioned--pushing this dazzling and awe-inspiring beast into the spotlight of modern science.
The rise of marine mammals : 50 million years of evolution by
Marine mammals have long captured the attention of humans. Ancient peoples etched seals and dolphins on the walls of Paleolithic caves; today, engineers develop microprocessors to track these denizens of the deep. This groundbreaking book from highly respected marine mammal paleontologist Annalisa Berta delves into the story of the extraordinary adaptations that gave the world these amazing animals. The Rise of Marine Mammals reveals remarkable fossil record discoveries that shed light on the origins, relationships, and diversification of marine mammals. Focusing on evolution and paleobiology, Berta provides an overview of marine mammal species diversity, enhanced with gorgeous life restorations by Carl Buell, Robert Boessenecker, William Stout, and Ray Troll and extensive line drawings by graphics editor James L. Sumich. The book also considers ongoing conservation challenges, demonstrating how the fossil record of adaptation in response to past environmental shifts may illuminate the way that marine mammals respond to global climate change. This invaluable evolutionary framework is essential for helping us understand how best to protect and conserve today's polar bears, whales, dolphins, seals, and fellow warm-blooded ocean dwellers. The Rise of Marine Mammals also describes exciting breakthroughs that rely on new techniques of study, including 3-D imaging, and molecular, finite element, and morphometric analyses, which have enhanced scientists' understanding of everything from the anatomy of fetal whales to the genes behind limb loss in cetaceans. Mammalogists, paleontologists, and marine scientists will find Berta's insights absorbing, while developmental and molecular biologists, geneticists, and ecologists exploring integrative research approaches will benefit from her fresh perspective.
Sharkabet : a sea of sharks from A to Z by
""Sharkabet: A Sea of Sharks from A to Z"" is a thrilling, chilling book for children of all ages. Featuring Ray Troll's spectacular fishy art, this book portrays sharks both living and extinct.
Stitched textiles : seascapes by
Aimed at textile artists and intermediate to experienced embroiderers and quilters this amazing work explores in both technique and design, Amanda Hislop's incredible textile seascapes. New from the Stitched Textiles series, Amanda Hislop reveals the skills and processes she uses to make her incredible textile seascapes. Featuring original projects, practical and enjoyable design exercises, and extensive sections on composition and markmaking, this instructional guide is brimming over with good ideas for a stunning selection of fabric and stitch scenes. The book has a particular emphasis on taking your work from inspiration through the design stage, offering practical, clear advice and guidance on this sometimes difficult part of creating artwork. It's all clearly explained through practical exercises and inspirational examples that then lead to projects which build upon and consolidate the lessons learned. Amanda's deep love and fascination with the varied moods of the sea and coastal landscape makes this a fantastic source for ideas and wonderful must-have reference book for all textile artists, whatever their skill level.
Surveying the record : North American scientific exploration to 1930 by 
They write their dream on the rock forever : rock writings of the Stein River Valley of British Columbia by
In They Write Their Dreams on the Rock Forever, 'Nlaka'pamux elder Annie York explains the red-ochre inscriptions written on the rocks and cliffs of the lower Stein Valley in British Columbia. This is perhaps the first time that a Native elder has presented a detailed and comprehensive explanation of rock-art images from her people's culture. As Annie York's narratives unfold, we are taken back to the fresh wonder of childhood, as well as to a time in human society when people and animals lived together in one psychic dimension. This book describes, among many other things, the solitary spiritual meditations of young people in the mountains, once considered essential education. Astrological predictions, herbal medicine, winter spirit dancing, hunting, shamanism, respect for nature, midwifery, birth and death, are some of the topics that emerge from Annie's reading of the trail signs and other cultural symbols painted on the rocks. She firmly believed that this knowledge should be published so that the general public could understand why, as she put it, "The Old People reverenced those sacred places like that Stein." They Write Their Dreams on the Rock Forever opens a discussion of some of the issues in rock-art research that relate to "notating" and "writing" on the landscape, around the world and through the millennia. This landmark publication presents a well-reasoned hypothesis to explain the evolution of symbolic or iconic writing from sign language, trail signs and from the geometric and iconic imagery of the dreams and visions of shamans and neophyte hunters. This book suggests that the resultant images, written or painted on stone, constitute a Protoliteracy which has assisted both the conceptualization and communication of hunting peoples' histories, philosophies, morals and ways life, and prepared the human mind for the economic, sociological and intellectual developments, including alphabetic written language.
Tidalectics: imagining an oceanic worldview through art and science by
Essays, research, and art projects that formulate a Tidalectic worldview, addressing our most threatened ecosystem: the oceans. The oceans cover two-thirds of the planet, shaping human history and culture, home to countless species. Yet we, as mostly land-dwelling humans, often fail to grasp the importance of these vast bodies of water. Climate change destabilizes notions of land-based embeddedness, collapses tropes of time and space, and turns our future more oceanic. Tidalectics imagines an oceanic worldview, with essays, research, and artists' projects that present a different way of engaging with our hydrosphere. Unbound by land-based modes of thinking and living, the essays and research in Tidalectics reflect the rhythmic fluidity of water. Tidalectics emerges from the Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary (TBA21)-Academy, the only Western arts organization entirely dedicated to work on climate change and the oceans. In 2016, TBA21-Academy became the first cultural organization to gain UN observer status at the International Seabed Authority Assembly. The book presents newly commissioned work from a range of disciplines and often-neglected perspectives, alongside classic "anchor texts" by such writers as Rachel Carson. The contributors include an anthropologist from Fiji, a Norwegian scholar who specializes in maritime legal history, the author of the first comparative history of Caribbean and Pacific Island literatures, and a poet from Barbados who coined the term "tidalectics" as a play on "dialectics." The art projects documented in the book form part of an exhibition curated by the volume's editor, and include a video of the infinite whites, blues, and grays of Antarctica; a collection of oceanic smells from the Caribbean and Pacific coasts of Costa Rica; and a quartz submersible capsule designed to communicate with cetaceans. Tidalectics provides a unique collection of the strongest voices in oceanic thinking, bridging arts, oceanography, history, law, and environmental studies. With contributions by Nabil Ahmed, Tamatoa Bambridge, Kamau Brathwaite, Guigone Camus, Rachel Carson, Cynthia Chou, Paul D'Arcy, Tony deBrum, Elizabeth DeLoughrey, Keller Easterling, Bill Graham, Francesca von Habsburg, Stefan Helmreich, Stefanie Hessler, Cresantia Frances Koya Vaka'uta, Rosiana Lagi, Stéphanie Leyronas, Chus Martínez, Astrida Neimanis, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Markus Reymann, Philip E. Steinberg, Khal Torabully, Lingikoni Vaka'uta, Davor Vidas, Susanne M. Winterling Artists surveyed in the book Atif Akin, Darren Almond, Julian Charrière, Em'kal Eyongakpa, Tue Greenfort, Ariel Guzik, Newell Harry, Alexander Lee, Eduardo Navarro, Sissel Tolaas, Janaina Tschäpe & David Gruber, Jana Winderen, Susanne M. Winterling Copublished with TBA21-Academy, London
The tragic sense of life Ernst Haeckel and the struggle over evolutionary thought by
Prior to the First World War, more people learned of evolutionary theory from the voluminous writings of Charles Darwin’s foremost champion in Germany, Ernst Haeckel (1834–1919), than from any other source, including the writings of Darwin himself. But, with detractors ranging from paleontologist Stephen Jay Gould to modern-day creationists and advocates of intelligent design, Haeckel is better known as a divisive figure than as a pioneering biologist. Robert J. Richards’s intellectual biography rehabilitates Haeckel, providing the most accurate measure of his science and art yet written, as well as a moving account of Haeckel’s eventful life.
Turner : the late seascapes by
The English Romantic painter J.M.W. Turner (1775-1851) is renowned for his sublime and dramatic landscapes and seascapes. This volume, written by Turner expert James Hamilton and published in conjunction with a travelling exhibition organized by the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, focuses primarily on the artist's spectacular seascapes dating from the 1840s, the last decade of his illustrious career.
Visualizations : the nature book of art and science by
Martin Kemp's provocative essays on the interplay between art and science have been entertaining readers of Nature, the world's leading journal for the announcement of scientific discoveries, since 1997. These short, illustrated, highly regarded essays generally focus on one visual image from art or science and provide an evocative and erudite investigation into shared motifs in the two disciplines. Gathered together here with a delightfully rich introduction by the author, the essays take our understanding to an exciting new level as they transgress the traditional boundaries between art and science. The images under consideration cover Western art from the Renaissance to the present day, and the science ranges from abstract mathematics to the illustrative modes of natural history and medicine. Kemp skillfully discusses the Mona Lisa as well as horror films, Galileo's moon drawings and diagrams in modern physics, Renaissance pottery and logos on trucks, the invention of perspective, and contemporary masterpieces. Rather than charting the mutual influence of art and science upon each other, these essays look to the deeper structures that find expression in art and science; they reveal the "structural intuitions" shared by artists and scientists when confronting the world. This volume contains all the pieces published in Nature under the banners of "Art and Science" and "Science and Image," together with some from Kemp's recent "Science and Culture" series. The essays are presented thematically rather than chronologically, arranged to stimulate critical ideas about the nature of the image at the intersection of art and science, now and in the past.
Phone: 541-867-0249
Email: hmsc.library@oregonstate.edu
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00 pm
Location: OSU Hatfield Marine Science Center 2030 SE Marine Science Dr. Newport, OR 97365
Create your own art with the Guin Art Kit, which includes a sketch pad, colored pencils, water-soluble pastels and graphite pencils.
Contents
1 backpack containing: 1 Caran d'ache 15-color water-soluble pastels, 1 Castle Arts 72-colored pencils set,1 Faber-Castell graphite sketch pencil set, 1 watercolor sketch pad, 1 manual pencil sharpener
| Click here to request Guin's Art Kit |
| or contact us at: hmsc.library@oregonstate.edu or 541 867 0249 |
Get your craft on! Have a project that could use a little pizazz? Checkout our Craft Kit and make some magic!
Contents
1 backpack containing : 1 Crayola 40-color fine line markers set, 1 Soucolor 180-colored pencils set, 1 Sharpie color markers set, 3 color highlighters, 1 scissor, 1 manual pencil sharpener, 1 glue stick
| Click here to request Guin's Craft Kit |
| or contact us at: hmsc.library@oregonstate.edu or 541 867 0249 |
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501
Phone: 541-737-3331
