Skip to main content

Graduate Students' Visualize Your Bibliography Competition

1st Place

 

I title this piece "Persevere" in loving memory of OSU Professor and my master's thesis advisor, Dr. Robert Iltis. He passed away March 2019, the day before filming this video; he was my guiding light.

This video captures what Dr. Iltis taught me: although people may hide from the truth, good research uncovers and elevates that which might otherwise be forgotten. Therefore, it is incumbent upon the writers of history to persevere till the truth is revealed and the past elevated.

In Nazi Germany, 1938, Der Stürmer publishing house, under the control of Julius Streicher, published Der Giftpilz or The Poisonous Mushroom; an anti-Semitic children's book. Disseminated in the thousands, Der Giftpilz became infamously known as a children's book so grotesque it could be, and in fact was, admitted as evidence in the Nuremberg Trials. This research explores the totalizing nature of the Jewish question and its usage as explanatory backdrop towards the manipulation of children. Congruently, this study seeks to expose this artifact's rhetorical function through the use of Ernest Bormann's Fantasy Theme Analysis (FTA). This study employs FTA as a means of exposing the symbols and narratives behind an ideology that Der Giftpilz aimed at children. Particularly this study illuminates a child version of Nazi ideology that is utterly delusory, but at the same time instructive, and corrective. In addition, this study also explores cultural identity, specifically the formation of identity through alienation. Lastly, this study could have implications on similar rhetorical research as the world comes to understand child propaganda and its implications.

 —Matthew Rosenberg

Speech Communication

 

2nd Place

As a Black, multiracial scholar, I have a responsibility to approach my work critically as a scholar-activist engaged in seeking liberation from status quo (Monteiro-Ferreira & Asante, 2014; Burgess & Agozino, 2011; hooks, 1994; Hudson-Weems, 1997; Pratt-Clarke, 2014; Rendón, 2009; Urrieta, 2009). This, for me, is showing up Black in a white space. Similarly, in the visual, the fist is Black positioned within a white space representing me: my writing is Black, my thoughts are Black, my conversation is Black, my research is Black. Particularly at a historically white institution, the work I want and need to do differ from historically white and traditional methods represented by the sharp contrast between the white background and the Black fist.

Secondly, in terms of the white background, higher education in the U.S. was built with the exclusion of and disdain for Black people (Wilder, C. S., 2013; Dumas, 2016). Due to its position within hegemonic U.S. systems, U.S. educational institutions are built on the white experiences centering Eurocentric and white-centric ideologies, epistemologies, theories, and methodologies (Scheurich, J. J., 2002, Sandoval, 2000; Tuhiwai Smith, 2002; Zuberi & BonillaSilva, 2008; Monteiro-Ferreira & Asante, 2014).... This foundation of and current operations of whiteness is represented in the white in the background and throughout in the visual.

Finally, the words filling within the fist are the journal articles, book, and book chapter titles from my bibliography without repeating articles and prepositions.... These titles and words presented throughout the fist are orange. I am working on completing my third degree from OSU and am a Beaver through and through.... Together this visual represents me and how I show up.

—Kim McAloney

Education

3rd Place

I elected here to pool the words from the titles of works cited in my dissertation proposal for use in the writing of five haiku poems. This process parallels how natural selection promotes certain combinations of alleles and genes over others out of the pool of genetic variation. Each poem represents a theme, theoretical result, or a motif that echoes in the plant-pollinator and evolutionary ecology literature that provide the foundation for my work. 

Poem 1: One-to-one
This first haiku is about the well-recognized potential for coevolution in two closely-interacting populations, such as a plant with a single pollinator that relies solely on the plant for its food source. The potential for reciprocal natural selection and coevolution in more ‘diffuse’ (many plants with many pollinators) interaction networks is just beginning to be recognized (e.g. Guimareas et al. 2017).

Poem 2: The geographic mosaic 
John Thompson’s seminal work on the Geographic Mosaic Theory of Coevolution (Thompson 2005) has prompted a large body of empirical tests on coevolutionary ‘hotspots’ and ‘coldspots.’ We hope to someday test whether pollinator recognition exists in a geographic mosaic among populations of the same species (i.e. present in some populations but not in others), or whether it is fixed across all populations. 

Poem 3: Untitled
While common structural patterns have emerged in the study of plant-pollinator networks, another common theme is the spatial and temporal variability in interactions (e.g. Alarcón et al. (2008)). These are dynamic and complex communities.

Poem 4: Optimal?
While theory would predict broader use of resources when resources are scarce (as the refrigerator gets emptier and you get hungrier, suddenly that half-eaten bagel doesn’t look so bad), a few authors have shown increased pollinator specialization and flower fidelity when floral resources are scarce (e.g. Brosi and Briggs (2013)).

Poem 5: Learn to love yourself
Many plants are hermaphroditic and can reproduce through the joining of male and female gametes from the same flower, called ‘selfing.’ When pollinator services are unreliable (among other conditions), selfing can be highly adaptive. Many plant populations have evolved extremely high selfing rates which are often accompanied by reduced investment in attracting pollinators. Thus, the selfing-syndrome is often characterized by small, dull flowers. 

—Dustin Gannon

Botany & Plant Pathology

Competition Entry Image Gallery

My submission for the Visualize Your Bibliography Contest is comprised of references from my dissertation chapter draft “Silicone pet tags associate tris(1,3-dichloro-2-isopropyl) phosphate with feline hyperthyroidism.” ....The visual arrangement is adapted from the Table of Content artwork, which depicts a housecat wearing a silicone pet tag in a room with a couch.  

References (n=10) about feline hyperthyroidism and/or toxic nodular goiter form the body of the cat in the visualization.... References (n=22) about PBDE and/or OPFR exposures form the couch on the right side of the visualization (darker blue indicates shading).... References (n=14) about passive sampling devices form the silicone pet tag in the visualization. 

—Carolyn Poutasse

Environmental & Molecular Toxicology

Here, I present twenty sources representing works that significantly contribute to upholding balance in ecosystems taken from my PhD research chapter two bibliography. I chose to display these sources in the form of miniature books folded from the first page of each printed work arranged in chronological order and hung on a carefully balanced mobile. The handcrafted mobile represents the delicate balance of ecosystems while the incorporation of miniature books folded from each source represents the significance of research in maintaining that balance. I chose to order the sources chronologically to demonstrate how early works have heavily influenced current research. Just as the slightest shift in string position or weight on the mobile will cause the structure to collapse, seemingly insignificant changes to plant community composition, flammable fuels, and wildfire behavior can result in severe losses to biodiversity and ecosystem function. Understanding how these elements interact with and influence each other is critical to maintaining balanced and healthy ecosystems. 

—Claire Tortorelli

Forestry, Ecosystems, & Society

Video link: https://media.oregonstate.edu/media/t/1_dy7uy363

For this project, I used the literature cited in my most recent manuscript submission [1]. The manuscript is titled “Using continental-scale bird banding data to estimate migratory demographic patterns for Rufous Hummingbird (Selasphorus rufus)”. The manuscript represents the first chapter of my dissertation.

...
The map created contains hummingbirds of varying sizes, depending on how many lead authors (and thus cited articles) originated from a specific location. Bigger hummingbirds mean several cited articles originated from the same city. The image of a manuscript is located over Oregon State University, where the manuscript was produced. The arrows represent the migration of information across the globe, as seen through the bibliography.

—Josée Rousseau

Forestry, Ecosystems, & Society

I created a word network graph that is a mathematical representation of the relationships between words in the titles of all 138 sources used in my Master’s Thesis. To create this visualization, I first removed all conjunctions (and, but, nor, or, so, and yet), all dates, and most prepositions (such as in, for, by, of, with, as, and at) from the titles of my bibliography entries. I then used R, a free software environment for statistical computing and graphics, to quantify how many times each pair of words occurred together in a title. I edited R code published by Silge and Robinson (2017) to create a visualization of the number of times words in the dataset occurred together in 3 or more titles. Both line thickness and cyan color saturation depict the exact number of times words co-occurred in titles. The distances between the nodes are representative of the mean total underlying connections between each individual word and all others. The position of each word’s label in the graph was defined manually to reduce overlap between lines and text as much as possible. This graph highlights the connections between words in the titles of my bibliography entries.   

—Katelyn Qualls

College of Earth, Ocean, & Atmospheric Sciences

The conception for this project sprouted as naturally as the fertile fields of Benton County that I drive through each day on my way to class. I am a second year graduate student at Oregon State University’s College of Public Health. I study Health Promotion and Health Behavior and my area of focus is Rural Health. For almost six years of daily commuting, I’ve been imagining the wide variety of ways a partnership between Public Health and the Granges could improve the reach of public health promotion and prevention programs in rural areas. This fall, my major professor and I began writing a scoping review on this subject.  

...
The visual component of my submission is a photo collage of the Willamette Community and Grange Hall overlaid with text from my citations. The Willamette Grange is located approximately eight miles south of Corvallis, Oregon on the corner of Greenberry Road and Highway 99 West.  
—Lillian Anderson
Public Health

My research topic is on how current data on violence against Indigenous women are being gathered and used to provide culturally appropriate and quality services to Native peoples....

Many sources listed in my visualization are about reconceptualizing Indigenous data within a framework that takes into account history and social structures, because these, in turn, impact our understanding of people’s health and experiences. A prominent theme among many Native scholars is the idea of relationship among Native peoples. Their identity is intimately defined in relationship to their relatives and their environment. Moreover, in the Indigenous research paradigm, the research process is not always linear. Rather, everything is connected, a spiral, an infinite link that allows people to come to their own understandings in relation to their historical, present, and future connections. I chose to represent my bibliography as a spiral design to portray this idea of relationality and non-linearity in the Indigenous research paradigm. On the outer edge of the spiral, sources that discuss general concepts and decolonization theories are listed. As we move inward, the focus becomes more specific to my research topic. Each source is also separated by an infinity symbol (∞), indicating that the order of the sources is not necessarily by importance, but that at any point in the spiral, there is a connection to be made to other sources listed in this same spiral. 

—Susanna Park

Public Health

My bibliography is a representation of a manuscript in progress, “E-cigarette Use among U.S. College Students: Comparing Health Profiles.”....

Each of the digitally-drawn graphics were created to emulate different types of nicotine and tobacco products that were examined within my research. Each of the sources either examined or referenced a popular nicotine product it was labelled as. In researching the different types of nicotine and tobacco products, I only represent a portion of a multitude of options available on the market. Additionally, I believe that the colorful array of different types of tobacco products demonstrate the implications of marketing towards young adults and youth, which may perpetuate use. Even though the U.S. Surgeon General first reported in 1964 that cigarettes were associated with cancer and the CDC reports each year that smoking is the leading cause of preventable death, smoking is still being utilized by youth and adults. I hope that my visual bibliography shows that for every tobacco product on the market, there are more extensive research and public health efforts for the prevention of tobacco use. 

—Marissa Mayeda

Public Health

The “roots” of my research are founded in the engineering around continuous butter production. With limited current resources I began my research by looking into process improvement from a general standpoint.... This has developed into the core or “trunk” of my research into butters effect on laminated doughs. With a few methods from some hard to find sources I have adapted cereal science techniques to answer dairy processing questions. This has forced me to “branch” out into areas of science I had no idea existed.... On the “horizon” I am looking at even deeper into the complex interactions involved in both the butter and dough food matrices. As of yet no publications have “blossomed” so currently the tree is barren of fruit but spring is on the horizon.

Why a tree

I chose this particular tree after seeing it perched on a rock in Siletz Bay. It seemed determined to grow against all odds and adversity. With the ocean tides literally eroding the ground from underneath it stubbornly grasps at the thin wisps of sunlight that make it through the Oregon winter sky. Referred to lovingly as “Burro” by my girlfriend I can relate to this tree very much. I am holding on stubbornly to the little information I command while reaching for thin threads of enlightenment. Instead of ocean tides I am challenged and forced to contort and adapt by the challenges of graduate school. After being at OSU for almost two years I like that tree can feel time wearing me down and running out. Finally I chose this tree because it has not only withstood against the elements but has done so gracefully, perhaps a trait I may not share but one I can strive for.

—Sebastian Ramirez

Food Science & Technology

This visual bibliography celebrates the connectivity between highly specialized research that spans several disciplines in coral reef research....

Since we don’t have tropical coral reefs in Oregon, I used driftwood and found/household objects to create a representation of a coral reef scene. Inspired by affinity clustering activities, citations have been placed near to the certain aspect of the coral reef scene to which they share particular relevance. For example, most bleaching references are placed near to the sun, or heat, which leads into coral microbiome citations and then into temporal/spatial patterns in coral reefs, including human interaction. Considered individually, each source is an important statement of knowledge about its defined scope. Collectively, the contributions of each source transcend themselves and provide a holistic perspective of the coral reef system. Like the coral holobiont itself, the interrelated parts create an emergent whole system. 

—Katie McConnell

College of Earth, Ocean, & Atmospheric Sciences

Vimeo link: https://vimeo.com/327843065

My research is about gender diversity to support the competitiveness of North American forest products industry....
 
...I made a science comic poster to explain the conflicting findings of gender diversity studies resulted on group and company performance. This discussion has laid an important foundation for the first chapter of my dissertation about the perspectives of female executives on gender aspects in the forest sector. A paper of this study has been accepted in Canadian Journal of Forest Research.
 
Since there are positive results of gender diversity effects on group and company performance as well as negatives, I drew a battle simulation between the pros and the cons on gender diversity effects with their justifications. 
—Pipiet Larasatie
Wood Science Engineering

During my time at OSU, I have worked on designing Single Photon Avalanche Diode (SPAD) based systems in CMOS technology, for light detection and gamma-ray spectroscopy purposes. Specifically, my work has focused on designing the diodes (transducers), interface circuits, ADCs and digital backends... I have also worked on CMOS-based flow sensors. Within this, my work focused on designing on-chip transducers and power delivery blocks....


The visualization is essentially a Printed Circuit Board (PCB) design. A chip that consists of multiple sensor systems is often referred to as a lab-on-chip, especially if it includes the integration of microfluidics. Even though it is not an actual lab-on-chip, the four publications that I have listed could be parts of a lab-on-chip in which cell-counting, cell-imaging and radiation spectroscopy could be done. Therefore, in the visualization, each of the four edges of the lab-on-chip (the central block), represents one of my four publications (starting with paper 1, i.e. the bottom edge, going anti-clockwise). 

—Shaan Sengupta

Electrical & Computer Engineering

The network of connections between sources that I have constructed is a unique way of visualizing the linked nature of scientific work. To construct this network, I took the sources from the Introduction of my most recent research paper, which focuses on a group of super-abundant marine bacteria called SAR11, and compiled data on the year of the paper and the field of the paper. Those sources became the “nodes” for my network. Next, I went through each of my sources and searched for any citations of the other sources from my paper. Using this method, I was able to compile a list of connections between my sources. As the Introduction provides a literature review of pertinent research to provide the literary backdrop of my manuscript, I thought it was an apt section to utilize.


The story of my research is reflected in the network, especially in the group of large circles that clump together from within the last 17 years. These are all papers about SAR11, which was discovered in 2002 by Steve Giovannoni. The close spatial relationship of my paper to the microbiological papers about SAR11 is an easy way to visualize how my work is a continuation of many of those works. Another interesting story is the way in which the biochemical papers fit into the network, as many of them are on the periphery of the network. Most of them are cited by only a few of the microbiology papers for specific enzymatic processes that that paper studied. On the other hand, the oceanographic papers tend to clump together, as many of them are looking at environmental concentrations of compounds that use similar methods as other oceanographic works.


Research in the life sciences, like most fields of academia, is not a lone-wolf venture; rather, it is built off decades and centuries of research in the field, conducted by a myriad of researchers who also built off each other’s work. My network visualizes that connectedness in a tangible way, while telling some thought-provoking stories unique to my field of research and my research project.

—Stephen Noell
Molecular & Cellular Biology

Much of my research is based on images captured by two instruments on a pair of satellites maintained by NASA. The satellites orbit the earth and produce at least one image of nearly every place on the earth every day. I use these data to study how snow cover in the Western United States is related to rivers, water and human’s use of water. When I thought about the sources in my bibliography and the way that my research data is collected, I thought it would be interesting to display a portion of my bibliography in a similar way to how snow cover looks in the images I use for my research. By using a stationary camera mounted on a tripod and natural lighting I attempted to evoke similar conditions to those present in satellite imagery. Variations in brightness with solar angle, cloud cover, terrain features and sensor errors all contribute to images that like those seen in the video, contain shadows and varying brightness, making both sets of images complex, varied and ephemeral.

—Benjamin Roberts-Pierel

Geography

The image of a boat surfing waves over a turbulent sea reflects the way in which a business owner, company, researcher or employee has to work in a highly competitive world. The boat represents a researcher, entrepreneur or company. This image portrays the journey of Medtronic's founder, Earl Bakken. He also was a researcher who found and applied knowledge at some point in time.

The boat surfs three colored waves: the past, present and future. The meaning of the color is same one as the that of a traffic signal. The past wave is a very challenging wave and is identified with the red color. This stage is characterized by looking for as much information as possible. This will allow us to stop and think about our research process before continuing. There is nothing defined and there are many doubts and unknown facts that need to be clarified. Earl Bakken also faced and overcame a similar stage when he founded Medtronic in 1949. I showed some facts and pictures of what he experienced in the video.

The yellow wave is labeled as the present. This wave allows the researcher to continue the journey, but caution should be considered when relating new information with the existing one. Doing this task correctly could lead the researcher to select relevant information that clarifies a hypothesis or goals. There is nothing for sure in this stage, but there are opportunities that may emerge. As a company, Medtronic experiences this every day when it tries to develop technology, therapies and creates more value in the market.

The future wave is a challenging and risky wave. It reflects that the researcher has all the elements that are needed to complete a project. The researcher just need to gather all the information found and apply the known knowledge to get results. Green color is used to emphasize that there are enough elements to continue working under challenging circumstances. As you can see in the video, this stage is an exciting one for Medtronic and Earl Bakken. The company has merged and acquired more than 30 companies that will allow it to develop the medical technology of the future. This will allow Medtronic to continue working during the next years.

The innovation wave is orange colored because it is a mixture of the past and present waves and is above any other wave. This is the most challenging wave that any researcher, business owner or company can experience. One need meaningful elements to create something new and valuable to the market. My research and sources identified how the company's structure, strategic plans, management and investments are interrelated in such as way that innovation is adapted as a cultural factor in the company. As a researcher this is not an easy task. Medtronic has invested significant financial resources and willingness to foster innovation in their day-to-day operations.

The sunset represents the culmination of Earl Bakken's life and his journey with us in this world, leaving us his most remarkable achievement, Medtronic.

—Wilberth Gibran Santa Cruz Ruiz

Business Administration

My dataset is chronologically organized and divvied into published and unpublished sources. I decided to pick out the first and last five sources from both the published and unpublished sources. To be able to consider hidden trends over time within the titles of the twenty selected sources, I believed it would be best to include the titles of each source (as is) on a timeline; as illustrated in slides 2 and 4. Timelines are helpful to unveil patterns that may have not been understood otherwise. The title of a source is useful for finding the source, but also for conveying the main point and focus. The titles that are displayed in slides 2 and 4 also show us that titles themselves portray temporal information about fonts, and the use of a typewriter versus computer. By portraying the titles of ten published sources in a timeline (slide 2), I was able to see beyond the published sources ranging from 1919-2018. Additionally, I was able to notice a fifty-one-year gap from 1920-1971 between published sources included in my study. I was also able to contrast the frequency of published articles at one in 1919 versus four in 2018.

By portraying the titles of ten unpublished sources in a timeline (slide 4), I was able to see beyond the unpublished sources ranging from 1981-2017. Additionally, I was able to notice that unpublished sources seemed to be written at a higher frequency than the published sources. For example, the first five unpublished sources span from 1981-1988. The first five published sources span from 1919-1975. Slide 6 focuses on the frequency by year of published and unpublished sources. It was interesting to see that the first unpublished source was recorded 62 years after the first published source on diversity and inclusion in natural resources. Slide 6 shows the general trend regarding the increasing frequency of sources published per year since there were four sources in both 2016 and 2018. Slides 3 and 5 include a title analysis that focuses on aspects such as who, what and where. I found this interesting because the subjects (i.e. who) seemed to become more ambiguous over time. For example, early on, the subjects were women, minorities, and foreign students. Overtime, this changed to urban communities and university students.

—Jasmine Brown

Forestry, Ecosystems, & Society