LibGuides: MRKT 497/597 Global Marketing: Resources

International Marketing Resources from OSU Libraries

These databases may be of particular use to you in your Global Marketing research. You will not use all of them, but remember that no database contains everything, so using more than one is advised.

Mintel Market Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This industry intelligence database includes detailed company and industry profiles, thousands of company histories and industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and business news. Also includes company financial reports providing interactive balance sheets and cash flow statements, as well as market conditions for publicly traded U.S. companies.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Information on approximately 15,000 NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ companies. The service also provides data on 20,000 non-U.S. based corporations. Annual and quarterly financials date back 15 years, annual reports date back to 1996 or 1997, and SEC filings date back to 1993. Information available for each company includes: company history, business, property, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, exchange and ticker symbol, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustees, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, dividend payment history and more.
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
SBRnet is an online international sport marketing and business information provider including reports and statistics which focus on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media and directories.

CIA World FactBook

World Fact Book
aka CIA World FactBook.
Essential Resource!
Profiles of countries of the world including sections on people, geography, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues; includes flags of the world. Quick, reliable, up-to-date information.

Other International Information Sources

You may find the following pages from the OSU Libraries' Government Information Guide useful:

Government Information: International - Visit this guide for links to country information, United Nations web resources, international development information, and legal information.

International Statistics - This tab on the Government Information International guide lists various useful sources of international statistics.

Trade Associations

Federation of International Trade Associations - FITA (The Federation of International Trade Associations) has 450 association members and 450,000 linked company members dedicated to the promotion of international trade, import-export, international logistics management, international finance and more. One good place to find out about what ITAs exist and how to find information about them.

Federal Information Sources for Global Business

U.S. Census Bureau
Statistics on people, business, and geography. Information ranges from an especially useful and incredibly easy-to-use QuickFacts feature, up to downloadable data files.
U.S. Department of State
The State Department is very interested in international trade, and their website contains a lot of information. This link takes you directly to its Trade Policy & Programs page.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
International information included here: Balance of Payments, Trade in Goods and Services, International Services, International Investment Position, Direct Investment and Multinational Enterprises, Survey Forms and Related Materials
Bureau of Labor Statistics
BLS is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Inflation, prices, pay & benefits, consumer spending, employment, unemployment, productivity, and MORE.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources, Statistical Abstract is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Federal government ceased its publication in 2011 (it has been a standard since 1878), ProQuest developed this database.

NAICS Codes

What is NAICS? The North American Industry Classification System or NAICS is a federal classification system used by Canada, Mexico, and the United States to classify business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data relating to the business economy.

Read more about NAICS at the U.S. Census Bureau website. You can also find simple NAICS Indentification Tools on the NAICS website.

You can use the NAICS code to find distributors and manufacturers: If the NAICS code begins with a 3 or 4 you can find more information (top manufacturers, states where they are located, etc) in the volume of three e-books titled Manufacturing & Distribution U.S.A. which can be found online. Click on "Connect to this title online."

You can use the NAICS code to find research about an industry: Several business databases allow you to do a search by NAICS code (Business Source Premier, LexisNexis Academic, and others) to quickly pull up research done about a specific industry. A great shortcut to information!

Libraries

MRKT 497/597 Global Marketing

Where can I get more help?

International Marketing Resources from OSU Libraries

CIA World FactBook

Other International Information Sources

Federal Information Sources for Global Business

NAICS Codes

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches