Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 469/569: Methods and Theory of Art History: Quick Start

General Reference Sources

Oxford Art Online.  Grove Dictionary of Art.  Premier Art reference source and your best starting point.  Includes the following online books that can be searched together or separately.

  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Art
  • A Dictionary of Modern Design
  • The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
  • A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art

Artlex
An illustrated, cross referenced dictionary of over 3300 art terms, movements and concepts.

Art and Architecture Thesaurus

Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)  Getty Research Institute.  Searchable database of artists' names.  Useful when you don't know the when or where of an artist.

1Search

You do allow embedded content.

1Search - (One Search) http://search.library.oregonstate.edu  

Found at the top of the Libraries' home page, searches Summit and the OSU Libraries' catalog of books and documents. Also searches several, but not all, of the article databases, and digital collections. 

Link to the eJournals A-Z list to identify the journals that we own.

Style Guides & Writing Resources

Style Guides

The Chicago manual of style. Call No.: Z253 .U69 2010 Location: 2nd Floor; Valley Library Reference desk

Sylvan Barnet. A short guide to writing about art. Call No.: N7476 .B37 2011 
 

Research and Documentation Online 

Citation Builders
Online Citation Builder (Univ of N. Carolina Libraries)

Writing resources at OSU

Writing Center

Online Writing Lab