Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 469/569: Methods and Theory of Art History: Find Journal Articles

Finding Articles

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier  1975 - present. Articles from a wide variety of newspapers, magazines and journals.
  • Academic OneFile 1980 - present. Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
  • Art Fulltext 1984 - present. This comprehensive resource for art features full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and abstracts for 600 journals as far back as 1984. Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
  • BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art 1990 - 2007. Index to articles, essays and chapters in art history. Can be searched concurrently with RILA: Répertoire de la litterature de l'art, 1975-1989.
  •  Fine Arts and Music Collection 1980 - present. Provides more than 150 full-text magazines and journals that are covered in indices such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide support for research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
  • Web of Science Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --2004-present.  Click on "More Settings" and select: Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals.

If the database doesn't include the full text of an article you need, use the "360 Link to Full Text" to find the article.  Show me how.

Other Full Text Journal Collections

  • Project Muse An online collection of current scholarly journals, including Victorian Poetry and Victorian Studies.  Select "Include JSTOR back issues" to search both collections simultaneously.  Show me how!
  • JSTOR  An archival collection of scholarly journals.  The most recent issues available are usually 2-5 years old.

 

Identifying Peer Reviewed Sources

Using research that has been evaluated by other experts in the field (peer reviewed or refereed) is an efficient way of finding research of value. Some ways to identify if the research is peer-reviewed:

  • Use the database: some databases consist entirely (or almost entirely) of peer-reviewed literature (for example: PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Abstracts in Anthropology, ERIC)
  • Many databases allow you to LIMIT your search to peer-reviewed or scholarly literature (the EBSCOhost databases like Academic Search Premier for example)
  • Check journal's entry in Ulrich's, reference books located at the library Information Desk, with information about almost all periodicals published worldwide, including an icon noting peer reviewed. (NOTE: there is now an online version of Ulrich's--see link below!)
  • Check the journal's editorial policy statement for an explicit statement (generally small print at the front of the issue, or visit the journal's web page). Look for a list of editors, which can be an implicit indication of peer review.
  • Ask a librarian for assistance

Other ways to identify scholarly articles:

  • Look for common characteristics of scholarly works, such as
    • easily identifiable author names and affiliations
    • an abstract, introduction, methodology, conclusions
    • citation of others' works
    • a complete list of references
  • Determine if article is written by a scholar in the field for other researchers (rather than the general public)

The University of Arizona Library has a web page and tutorial on identifying the differences between popular and scholarly articles at http://www.library.arizona.edu/help/tutorials/scholarly/guide.html