Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NIH Public Access Policy: My Bibliography

Instructions for faculty and graduate students awarded NIH grants to comply with public access policy, using the NIHMS system.

My Bibliography & Biographical sketch

Summary

NIH recently announced a new requirement for Project Investigators and Program Directors related to their publications listed in eRA Commons. As of July 23, 2010, PIs and PDs are required to use the My Bibliography feature in My NCBI to develop their publications lists.

NIH lists three goals for this change: ease investigators’ bibliography management, improve data quality, and ensure compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy.

Essentially, researchers will no longer manually enter citations in eRA Commons and will use PubMed and PubMed Central records to quickly import publication information to My Bibliography. Researchers can also manually enter citation information in My Bibliography for records that do not appear in PubMed and for conference presentations, patents, etc. References saved in My Bibliography will automatically appear in users’ eRA Commons accounts.

Required Actions

  • If not already established, Project Directors and PIs must establish a My NCBI account to gain access to My Bibliography.
  • My NCBI accounts must be linked to eRA Commons accounts.
  • New NIH biographical sketch available

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 United States License.

Content modified with permission of creator, ale Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library.

Your Librarian

Michael Boock's picture
Michael Boock
Contact:
Contact me for help with questions pertaining to copyright, the OSU Faculty Open Access policy, open access publishing, digital collections of scholarship. I am the library liaison for the College of Forestry and the Honors College.

Website