LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: OER By Type

Textbooks

Remember, you don't have to use the whole book. You can pick and choose chapters from several different books and make your own custom version that's free.

Or consider writing your own textbook. Contact OSU's Open Educational Resources Unit.

Multimedia and Images

Creative Commons Search
Use this prototype to find images that you can use and remix across several open archives
Flickr: The Commons
Google Images
Use Google's Advanced Image search options. To use the usage rights filter option, select "advanced image search" on the main Google Images page. Once in the "advanced image search" page, you will find the usage rights options at the bottom of the page. In the usage rights menu, you can select one of four options.
Khan Academy
Library of Congress Digital Collections
NASA Image Gallery
National Gallery of Art
NOAA Photo Library
Noun Project
Smithsonian Open Access
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Wikimedia Commons
A collection of 42,646,897 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute

Many museums have started to make their images available online under an open license. For some examples, see the Digital Resources Guide.

And don't forget our very own OSUL&P Special Collections and Archives.

Lesson Plans and Course Materials

Workforce Training

Skills Commons

Music

Jamendo

Mason OER Metafinder

Search 15 OER repositories at once! Created by the George Mason University Libraries.

Mason OER Metafinder

OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) SUNY Genseo

Search across multiple OER repositories at once. You can search by source type (textbooks, course materials, interactive simulations) or by subject.

OASIS

Libraries

Open Educational Resources

Textbooks

Multimedia and Images

Lesson Plans and Course Materials

Workforce Training

Music

Mason OER Metafinder

OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) SUNY Genseo

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches