Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Travel and Tourism in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

This guide is intended to highlight collections in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center that deal with travel and or tourism in the Northwest.

Select Travel and Tourism Books

SCARC's rare book holdings include over 800 titles related to travel and/or tourism, including over 300 that cover Oregon-related topics such the travel in the Pacific Northwest, overland journeys to the Pacific, the Oregon National Historic Trail, and travel in the Oregon Territory

The following curated lists highlight only a fraction of the travel- and tourism-related rare books in our collections, and many of the books could apply equally well to more than one category of travel. Clicking on the hyperlinked call number will open that book's catalog record; call numbers with asterisks have copies in Special Collections and in the main stacks of the Valley Library (the latter of which may be checked out and taken home).

Recreational Travel and Tourism

Books listed in the recreational travel list include personal works on things like camping, auto trips, bicycle trips, and travel by rail.

Adams, Emma H. To and Fro, up and down in Southern California, Oregon, and Washington Territory : with Sketches in Arizona, New Mexico and British Columbia. Cranston & Stowe, 1888. F851 .A21

Caldwell, William Elmer. Travel Babble. 1st ed., Binfords & Mort, 1972. G469 .C3*

Gibbs, George, and Carstensen, Vernon Rosco. Pacific Northwest Letters of George Gibbs. Oregon Historical Society, 1954. F880 .G4*

Hanly, J. Frank. A Day in the Siskiyous : an Oregon Extravaganza. Art Press, 1916. F882.S56 H2*

Kirchhoff, Theodor, and Trautmann, Frederic. Oregon East, Oregon West : Travels and Memoirs. Oregon Historical Society Press, 1987. F881 .K562513 1987*

Lanman, Charles, et al. Adventures in the Wilds of the United States and British American Provinces. John W. Moore, No. 195 Chestnut Street, 1856. E166 .L2

McComas, E. S., et al. A Journal of Travel. Champoeg Press, 1954. F881 .M1*

Murphy, Thomas D. Oregon, the Picturesque : a Book of Rambles in the Oregon Country and in the Wilds of Northern California : Descriptive Sketches and Pictures of Crater and Klamath Lakes, the Deschutes River Canyon, the New Columbia Highway, the Willamette and Rogue River Valleys and the Cities and Towns of Oregon : Also of the Little-Known Lakes, Rivers, Mountains, and Vast Forests of Northern California, to Which Is Added a Trip to the Yosemite and to the Roosevelt Dam and the Petrified Forest of Arizona, by Motor Car. Page Co., 1917. F881 .M85*

The Photomobile Tourist : Oregon, Washington, Idaho. Photomobile Tourist Co., 1919. GV1024 .P55

Orchard, Vance. Life on the Dry Side : a Nostalgic Journey down the Backroads of the Inland Northwest. Pioneer Press Books, 1984. F881.2 .O71 1984*

Pine, George W. Beyond the West; Containing an Account of Two Years' Travel in the Other Half of Our Great Continent Far beyond the Old West, on the Plains, in the Rocky Mountains, and Picturesque Parks of Colorado. Also, Characteristic Features of New Mexico, Arizona, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho ... Oregon, Utah, Nevada, and ... California, the End of the West ... the Great Continental Railroad, Together with the ... Most Wonderful Natural Scenery in the World ... T.J. Griffiths, 1870. F591 .P64 

Spring, Bob, et al. Adventuring on the Columbia. Superior Pub. Co., 1956. F853 .S751 1956

Wiggins, Myra Albert. Letters from a Pilgrim. Statesman Pub. Co., 1904. G463 .W5

Willis, Nathaniel Parker, et al. Rural Letters and Other Records of Thought at Leisure : Written in the Intervals of More Hurried Literary Labor. Baker and Scribner, No. 145 Nassau Street and 36 Park Row, 1849. PS3324 .R8 1849

Winthrop, Theodore. The Canoe and the Saddle : Adventures among the Northwestern Rivers and Forests, and Isthmiana. Ticknor & Fields, 1863. F891 .W5 1863*

Professional Travel and Tourism

The professional travel list includes books written about explorations and expeditions funded by government agencies; travels undertaken by cartographers, naturalists, and ethnographers; and results of surveys.

American Association for the Advancement of Science. Pacific Coast Committee. Nature and Science on the Pacific Coast : a Guide-Book for Scientific Travelers in the West. Paul Elder and Co., 1915. F851 .A46*

Dufur, A. J. Statistics of the State of Oregon : Containing a Description of Its Agricultural Development, and Natural and Industrial Resources : Together with the Physical, Geographical, Geological, and Mineral Statistics of the State. Printed at the "Willamette Farmer" Office, 1869. F881 .O6

Hall, Basil, et al. Account of a Voyage of Discovery to the West Coast of Corea, and the Great Loo-Choo Island : with an Appendix, Containing Charts, and Various Hydrographical and Scientific Notices. John Murray, 1818. DS895.R6 H3

Hall, Charles Francis, and Harper & Brothers, publisher. Arctic Researches and Life among the Esquimaux : Being the Narrative of an Expedition in Search of Sir John Franklin, in the Years 1860, 1861, and 1862. Harper & Brothers, 1865. G665 1860 .H2

Hayden, F. V., et al. Tenth Annual Report of the United States Geological and Geographical Survey of the Territories : Embracing Colorado and Parts of Adjacent Territories : Being a Report of Progress of the Exploration for the Year 1876. G.P.O., 1878. QE74 .G41 1878

Herndon, William Lewis, et al. Exploration of the Valley of the Amazon : Made under Direction of the Navy Department. Robert Armstrong, Public Printer, 1854. F2546 .H4

Lynch, William Francis. Narrative of the United States' Expedition to the River Jordan and the Dead Sea. New and corr. ed., Lea and Blanchard, 1849. DS107 .L98 1849

Parker, Samuel, and American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. Journal of an Exploring Tour beyond the Rocky Mountains : under the Direction of the A.B.C.F.M., Performed in the Years 1835, '36, and '37 : Containing a Description of the Geography, Geology, Climate, and Productions, and the Number, Manners, and Customs of the Natives : with a Map of Oregon Territory. Published by the Author, 1838. F880 .P22 1838

Powell, John Wesley, et al. Exploration of the Colorado River of the West and Its Tributaries : Explored in 1869, 1870, 1871, and 1872, under the Direction of the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution. G.P.O., 1875. F788 .P59*

Preuss, Charles. Exploring with Frémont : the Private Diaries of Charles Preuss, Cartographer for John C. Frémont on His First, Second, and Fourth Expeditions to the Far West. 1st ed., University of Oklahoma Press, 1958. F592 .P6*

Stacey, May Humphreys, et al. Uncle Sam's Camels : the Journal of May Humphreys Stacey Supplemented by the Report of Edward Fitzgerald Beale (1857-1858). Harvard University Press, 1929. F876 .S77 1929

Talbot, Theodore. Soldier in the West; Letters of Theodore Talbot during His Services in California, Mexico, and Oregon, 1845-53. 1st ed., University of Oklahoma Press, 1972. F592.T22 A4 1972*

Turner, Lucien M. Contributions to the Natural History of Alaska. Results of Investigations ... in the Yukon District and the Aleutian Islands; Conducted under the Auspices of the Signal Service, United States Army, Extending from May, 1874, to August, 1881 ... Govt. Print. Off, 1886. QH105.A4 T8

United States. War Department. Reports of Explorations and Surveys, to Ascertain the Most Practicable and Economical Route for a Railroad from the Mississippi River to the Pacific Ocean. Beverly Tucker, Etc., 1855. F593 .U5*

Wheeler, George M., et al. Report upon United States Geographical Surveys West of the One Hundredth Meridian. United States Government Printing Office, 1875. QE74 .W6

Tourism Industry

Books in this list include promotional works encouraging emigration, tourism, or investment.

Bowles, Samuel. The Pacific Railroad--Open : How to Go: What to See : Guide for Travel to and through Western America. Fields, Osgood & Co., 1869. F594 .B69

Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, and Great Northern Railway Company. Oregon for the Farmer. Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, Northern Pacific Railway, Great Northern Railway, 1925. F876 .C4

Corvallis Board of Trade. Benton County, Oregon : the Heart of the Famous Willamette Valley. Published by Authority of the Corvallis Board of Trade : Yaquina Board of Trade, 1890. F882.B4 C6*

Donan, P., and Oregon Railway Navigation Company. Passenger Department. The Columbia River Empire : Some Hurried Glimpses of a Region Where All Glories of Scene, All Charms of Climate and All Riches of Resource Meet and Shake Hands. Passenger Dept. of the Oregon Railroad and Navigation Co., 1899. F853 .D6

Hall, Rinaldo M., and Oregon Railway Navigation Company. General Passenger Department. Restful Recreation Resorts of the Pacific Northwest : Where They Are and How to Reach Them : a Brief Description of the Trips up and down the Columbia River, to the Mountains, Beaches, Inland Resorts and Fountains of Healing. General Passenger Dept., Oregon Railroad & Navigation Co., 1906. F852 .H19 1906

Hyskell, C. M. Oregon, the Land of Opportunity. 1907. F881 .P64 1907

League of American Wheelmen. 1897 Oregon Bicycle Guide. Reprint of the 1897 ed. titled Road book of Oregon published by the League of American Wheelman, Palatine, Ill. ed., [Durham & Downey], 1976. GV1045 .L4 1976

Oregon. Board of Immigration. Oregon as It Is : a Brief Description of the State Containing Accurate and Trustworthy Information for Those Seeking New Homes in a Mild and Healthful Climate, or the Best Fields for the Investment of Capital. 8th ed.]. ed., R.H. Schwab, 1887. F881 .O64 1887

Oregon State Board of Immigration. Oregon : Facts Regarding Its Climate, Soil, Mineral and Agricultureal Resources, Means of Communication, Commerce and Industry, Laws, &c. : for Use of Immigrants : with Maps. Oregon State Board of Immigration ; Stereotyped and Printed by Rand, Avery, & Co., 1876. F881 .O65

Oregon. State Printing Board, and Oregon. Travel Information Division. Come to Oregon : Cool, Green Vacationland. [Travel Information Division, State Highway Dept], 1959. F876.5 .C65 1959

Reed, Ione. Oregon Outings ; 25 Adventures for Sunday Drivers. Eugene Register-Guard, 1971. F874.3 R3

Salem Chamber of Commerce. Come to Oregon and Then to Salem, the City Beautiful. Chamber of Commerce, 1927. F884.S34 S3

Southern Pacific Company. General Passenger Department. Oregon for the Settler : a Great Area with Rich Valleys, Mild and Healthful Climate and Wide Range of Products. The Department, 1915. F881 .S68

Wheeler, Olin D., and Northern Pacific Railroad Company. 6,000 Miles through Wonderland : Being a Description of the Marvelous Region Traversed by the Northern Pacific Railroad. Rand, McNally, 1893. F597 .W4

Wood, Stanley. Over the Range to the Golden Gate : a Complete Tourist's Guide to Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, Nevada, California, Oregon, Puget Sound, and the Great Northwest. R.R. Donnelley & Sons, 1900. F595 .W88 1900

Additional Sources by Type and Topic

Below is a table of "canned searches" for books relating to travel, arranged by type (e.g. diary, autobiography, promotional or pictorial work, etc.) and topic (e.g. Oregon Territory, Overland Travel, etc.). Click on the hyperlinked type or topic to be taken to the complete list of related titles available in SCARC.

TYPE TOPIC
Autobiography Discoveries in Geography
Biography Frontier and Pioneer Life
Diaries Native Americans / First Nations
Early Works Natural History
Guidebooks Oregon
History Oregon National Historic Trail
Pictorial Works Oregon Territory
Promotional Materials Overland Journeys to the Pacific
Travel Writing Pacific Northwest