LibGuides: IACUC: The 3Rs and the Literature Search: Subscription Databases

Subscription Databases

These databases are only available to OSU-affiliated researchers, staff, or students. As with the free databases, most of our subscription databases focus on a general subject area. You may be surprised by the inclusion of physics and computer science databases, but these can be helpful for researchers looking for computer models.

Databases are used to locate journal articles from hundreds or even thousands of journals. Some journals will be available online (e-journals), some in print only and some will be available both online and in print.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
Animal Health and Production Compendium This link opens in a new window
The Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) is an encyclopedic, multimedia tool produced by CAB International that brings together science-based information to support sound decision-making in animal husbandry and food production worldwide. It is comprised of information sourced from experts, edited and compiled by an independent scientific organization, and resourced by a diverse international Development Consortium. AHPC also contains datasheets on Diseases, Breeds, and Food Safety and Quality, When searching the full CAB Abstracts database, you can limit to the journal article content of this resource by adding sc:”QV” to your search or looking for this resource under “Show details.”

APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology
Volume 2 Research designs: Quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological, and biological. Includes animal research techniques.

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, government reports, books, dissertations and conference papers covering all biological and ecological aspects of marine and freshwater environments.
Abstracts and index: 1978-present
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conference proceedings and other materials in agriculture, forestry, nutrition and veterinary medicine.
1910-present
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village (Compendex) covers all areas of engineering including: acoustical; aerospace; automotive; biological; chemical; civil; computer; electrical; electronic; energy;environmental; geologic; mechanical; metallurgical; mining; and robotics.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)

Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements. Abstracts and index: 1967-present
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of fish and fisheries research.
Index only: 1971-present
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE and IET transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings and standards.
1988-present
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention
1887-present
SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Scholar provides electronic searching of Chemical Abstracts (CA) and the CAS Registry file. CA is the world's largest and most up-to-date collection of chemical information, with more than 20 million abstracts of journal articles, patents, and more. CAS Registry contains more than 24,000,000 substance records, including more than 16,000,000 organic and inorganic substances and 4,000,000 biosequences. The Registry is the world's largest collection of organic substance records. 1907-present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Science Citation Index 1970-present
Social Science Citation Index 1970-present
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of wildlife research.
1935-present

Libraries

IACUC: The 3Rs and the Literature Search

Subscription Databases

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches