LibGuides: WGSS 460/560: Sexualities, Feminisms, Women: Quick Start

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Locating articles:

If the full-text of the article does not appear in the database, click the 360 Link to Full Text button to determine if OSU has a paper copy or an electronic copy of the journal. If we don't, request the article from InterLibrary Loan (Free!).

1Search This link opens in a new window
Use 1Search to discover articles, books, documents, videos and more held at OSU Libraries and available through Summit.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains abstracts and full text for hundreds of the important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more. You can also find many full-text monographs and books. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is included and this database provides an LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University, Project MUSE is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
Women's Studies International (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports research and curriculum development in the areas of women studies, sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Coverage is from 1965-present.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Abstracts and index: 1963-present

Statistics

There are a number of ways to get meaningful statistics:

check in books, journal articles and newspaper articles
search the web, for example searches like:
- "bolivian women" statistics
- women bolivia statistics
can help uncover reports with quantitative data from government agencies, professional associations, etc.
search the databases below

Statistical Abstract This link opens in a new window
A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the world. When the Census Bureau announced in 2011 that due to budget constraints they would cease to produce this resource, ProQuest took on responsibility for updating and releasing it. Both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources , Statistical Abstract is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013 online edition has some significant enhancements over the Census Bureau’s online version, including line-item access to tables, monthly updates instead of annual, and table-specific capabilities for narrowing results by source, data date, subject, and type of data breakdown. Links to a Help page and a quick start Guide are located at the top of the page.
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada is the national statistical office. The agency ensures Canadians have the key information on Canada's economy, society and environment that they require to function effectively as citizens and decision makers.

Use 1Search to Find Books & Journal Articles

Find books at OSU & elsewhere with OSU Libraries 1Search:

search for books and more located at Valley library and OSU's other libraries
determine if OSU subscribes to a journal in print or electronically
search libraries in Oregon, Washington and throughout the world
if OSU does not, request the item to be delivered to OSU in 3-5 business days from a regional library (may take longer if the library gets a copy from outside the region)

Questions about 1Search? Go here!

Current Newspaper Articles

Oregonian (Newsbank Historical and Current Collection) This link opens in a new window
Research Portland history through the Oregonian Collection with coverage from 1861 through current. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To Register or Renew Your Free Access Head to Our New York Times LibGuide

Oregon State University Libraries and Press’ New York Times online subscription provides access to domestic and international news, educational videos, podcasts, blogs, interactive multimedia, and much more. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. (Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day.)

Libraries

WGSS 460/560: Sexualities, Feminisms, Women

Librarian

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Statistics

Use 1Search to Find Books & Journal Articles

Current Newspaper Articles

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches