Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IE/ME/ESE 497: Capstone Design

A library help page for students working on capstone design reports for IE, ME or ESE.

Finding Articles by Subject

OSU Libraries subscribes to specialized databases you can search to find citations and/or full-text articles: 

Web of Science  Search for scientific scholarly articles in a large, frequently updated database. Link out to full-text using the 360 link button. 

IEEE Xplore  Journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports and standards, primarily related to electrical engineering, but including coverage of computer science, engineering management and many other topics/  

Compendex Search for abstracts and citations for articles and technical reports in the largest index of engineering literature. Goes back to 1970 online. Formerly known as Engineering Index, this resource goes back to 1886 in print at the Valley Library. Link out to full-text using the 360 link button. 

ASME  OSU Libraries full-text subscription to the journals of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

ASABE Technical Library  Search technical papers of the American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers. Full-text access.

Agricola  Agriculture-related database, includes extension reports and covers ag and bio-engineering.  

Business Source Premier is a good source for IE students to search for topics such as engineering management, lean manufacturing, process optimization, cost modeling and facilities planning. 

Google Scholar Find scholarly articles and articles on .edu web sites. Change 'preferences' to add OSU Libraries holdings to the search results.

Academic & Professional Journals

Academic or peer-reviewed journals are publications that communicate the results of research that has been vetted by peer researchers. Example: Journal of Mechanical Design


Professional, or trade journals are industry-specific publications that cover new methods, products or services in a particular industry.  Example:  Power Engineering

power engineering cover

 

Conference Proceedings

Conference proceedings include the papers (or sometimes the abstracts of papers or posters) presented at a particular professional organization's conference.  

There are thousands of conferences each year:  ASME alone offers over 15 per year. 

turbo expo conference proceedings