LibGuides: HDFS 360: Critical Thinking in HDFS (Corvallis): Find Articles

Overivew

This page provides guidance on finding both mass media articles and scholarly peer-reviewed literature on the topic of your choice.

Sources for Mass Media Reports of Science

Explore one or more of the sites below to find articles that report on science in the mass or popular media.

The New York Times Science News or Health News
The Washington Post Health & Science News
Los Angeles Times Science News
Newsweek Tech & Science News
Time Magazine Health News or Science News
U.S. News & World Report Science News
Google News: Science subset; Health subset
OSU Today (OSU pulls together mass media reports of OSU research)

Recommended Databases for HDFS 360

The following databases can be used to find scholarly, peer-reviewed research articles.

ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels. Links are provided for full text articles and documents.
Coverage Dates: 1966 - present
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index to research articles covering all areas of biomedicine including clinical and experimental medicine; dentistry; health care administration; microbiology; nursing; paramedical professions; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; psychiatry; psychology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine.
Abstracts and index: 1966-present
Proxy enabled to ensure optimal access for ONID users

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full-text coverage of nearly 550 journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles.
Coverage Dates: 1965 - present
PsycInfo (via PsycNET)
Index (with links to full text) to journal articles, dissertations, series and books for all areas of psychology.
Coverage Dates: 1887 - present
Sociological Abstracts
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
Web of Science
The Web of Science indexes research articles gathered from thousands of scholarly journals.
Coverage Dates: 1965 - present

Get Articles Online (or Request an Article PDF)

Locating articles: In most of the library's databases, look for this button to access your article online.

IF you get a message that indicates "No full text" or "Request this item", click the Request from Interlibrary Loan link to ask the library to get the article PDF for you (see image below).

Libraries

HDFS 360: Critical Thinking in HDFS (Corvallis)

Librarian

Where can I get more help?

Overivew

Sources for Mass Media Reports of Science

Recommended Databases for HDFS 360

Get Articles Online (or Request an Article PDF)

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches