Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 482/582: Anthropology of International Development: Locating Books & Journals

Resources and techniques useful for researching aspects of the anthropology of international development.

Locating Journal Articles

Use databases, found under the QuickLinks on the OSU Libraries' home page, to locate articles, reports and (sometimes) book chapters. If the full-text of the article does not appear in the database, check the OSU Libraries catalog to see if we own the journal the article is published in or the book the book chapter is in.  These may be either in print copies or available online. In many of the databases you can use the "360 Link to Full Text" button to discover options for obtaining the article such as using Interlibrary Loan, or locating the print book or journal in the library, or in a different database,.

 

Locating Books

1. Start with OSU Libraries Catalog for books at Valley Library and OSU's other libraries. 2. Next try Summit Catalog to request items from other Northwest academic libraries (indicated as Held by: Summit). Deliver to OSU within 3-4 days. 3. Finally, If Summit doesn't have it we'll find a library that does-just click the Request from Interlibrary Loan button.

Other Options: Google Book Search searches within indexes and texts of books. How much of the book you see depends on the copyright status, and on how much of their copyrighted work that authors and publishers who participate in the program will allow. For many items you can click on "Find this book in a library" to see if OSU owns a copy.This is not a complete catalog, so please check OSU and Summit catalogs, too.

Using Interlibrary Loan

 Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is available to currently registered OSU students, current and emeritus faculty, and staff with a valid ONID account. OSU Libraries pay for the cost of providing materials from other libraries; however your local public library provides ILL services for non-academic needs, residents, and businesses.