LibGuides: ANTH 474/574: Cross-Cultural Health & Healing: Quick Start

Recommended Databases

Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad range of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals. The abstracts provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 32 AAA journals.
Coverage Dates: 1972 - present
Medline (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals. Coverage Dates: 1950 - present

Sociological Abstracts
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Abstracts and index: 1963-present
Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Science Citation Index 1970-present
Social Science Citation Index 1970-present

Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present

International Resources

PressDisplay
PressDisplay provides online access to today\'s newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The ever-expanding collection currently includes over 230 titles. Just like reading the familiar print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. The service also provides a 60-day backfile and the ability to perform keyword searches within any issue. Newspapers are in their original language.
Coverage Dates: - Most recent 60 days

Partners in Health. Research, advocacy and publications related to health

World Health Organization (WHO) WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. Provides access to data and statistics, information about programs, reports and more.

WHO Bulletin The Bulletin of the World Health Organization is an international journal of public health with a special focus on developing countries. Includes peer-reviewed articles.

United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)ECOSOC has broad responsibility for some 70% of the human and financial resources of the entire UN system. This site provides links to documents, meetings, and news related to UN economic and social policy and issues, including health, poverty, and food security.

UNdata - single entry point for searching 27 UN databases.

United Nations - Human Development Reports

Related Databases

Nutrition Abstracts (Part of CAB Abstracts)
A subset of CAB Abstracts
Coverage Dates: 1984 - present
PsycInfo (via PsycNET)
Index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention.
Abstracts and index: 1887-present
Coverage Dates: 1887 - present
PAIS
The PAIS International database covers a broad array of public policy subjects including international relations, science and technology, and social conditions. PAIS also includes historical topical coverage on events such as watergate, the cold war, and the women's movement. The index covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Some of the cited documents may only be available through Interlibrary Loan.
Coverage Dates: 1915 - present

Citation Style for Anthropology

The citation style for anthropology is published by the American Anthropological Association. You can access it online at http://www.aaanet.org/publications/style_guide.pdf

Libraries

ANTH 474/574: Cross-Cultural Health & Healing: Quick Start

Recommended Databases

International Resources

Related Databases

Citation Style for Anthropology

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches