LibGuides: College Student Services Administration: CSSA 548 History of Higher Education

Introduction

The purpose of this page is to provide you with specific resources to help you with your historical research (this does not include the resources already featured on the "Getting Started" tab).

Suggested library databases for historical research

Search tips!

In general, start your searching with just one or two keywords. Add more as needed.
Be sure to try your topic in more than one database.
Read citations and abstracts to get ideas of different keywords that represent your topic.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Type medic* to find the words medicine or medical. Use quotes, "Mary Wollstonecraft", so the terms are searched as a phrase.
Coverage Dates: 1955 - present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary archival collection of scholarly journal articles. Type islam* to find the words islam or islamic. Use quotes, "Thomas Paine", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Under the advanced search, check mark articles to limit to scholarly articles.
Coverage Dates: - Varies by Journal
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of full-text, peer reviewed journals. Type islam* to find the words islam or islamic. Use quotes, "american west", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Use parentheses to search for multiple concepts ("muslim" or islam*) and history. Use the limit to articles on the Advanced Article Search page.
Coverage Dates: - Varies by journal
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Type islam* to find the words islam or islamic. Use quotes, "american west", so the terms are searched as a phrase.
Coverage Dates: 1964 -

Libraries

College Student Services Administration

Introduction

Suggested library databases for historical research

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches