LibGuides: *Psychology*: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Psychology-specific databases at OSU Libraries

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention.
Abstracts and index: 1887-present
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles back to 1965. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to nearly 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals back to 1980 - many cited in the PsycINFO index.
Psychological Experiments Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.

Psychological Transcripts

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Vol 1 (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works contains more than 2,000 transcripts of actual therapy sessions, 44,000 pages of client narratives and 25,000 pages of major reference works. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Vol 2 (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Volume II provides a deep look into the client-therapist office, allowing readers to follow the progress and setbacks of clients over the course of multiple therapy sessions. This collection features a diverse set of clients, a wide range of presenting issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches. Because all content was recorded in 2012 or later, Volume II features contemporary issues and the most up-to-date therapeutic approaches to treat them.

Post-Traumatic Stress Database

The PILOTS database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

PTSDpubs (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. The database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage from 1871 to the present.

Searching Databases

Most people want articles about a subject and don't know what specific journals or authors to look for. For this, you can use 1Search or you can choose to search specific databases. The advantage to searching databases is being able to focus on searching publications specifically covering your subject area; 1Search looks in many places and can get you started more quickly.

Basic multi-disciplinary databases can be useful for locating magazine and newspaper articles to give you background information on your subject, and also find many peer-reviewed research articles.

Several psychology-specific databases that concentrate on literature devoted to the subject are available to you.

Finally, psychology is often not limited to psychology-focused resources but touches upon other subjects as well: education, health, sociology, and sports are some examples. It can often be useful to use other subject-specific databases in related areas of study to broaden your results.

Libraries

Psychology

Business/Social Sciences Data Librarian

Recommended Databases

Psychological Transcripts

Post-Traumatic Stress Database

Searching Databases

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches