The databases listed on this page fall into several categories. Some are good for finding articles and reports on mapping and cartography; some are tools for creating thematic maps online; and some are reference works (encyclopedias and atlases).
For many freely available collections of maps and mapping tools, see the Maps Online tab on this guide.
Index to U.S. Geological Survey publications, U.S. and Canadian Masters'theses and Ph.D. dissertations, journal articles, books, maps and government reports. Index with some abstracts: 1785-present Coverage Dates: 1785 - present
(formerly SimplyMap) (limited to 3 concurrent users; registration optional and useful if you wish to save your work)
Create interactive thematic maps and reports! SimplyAnalytics includes over 70,000 variables related to demographics, employment, housing, crime, business counts, consumer spending and purchasing behavior.
The National Geologic Map Database Project (NGMDB) is a collaborative effort primarily involving the USGS and the Association of American State Geologists (AASG). This Web page contains information regarding the development of methods and standards intended to address a fundamental requirement of the NGMDB's authorizing legislation, the Geologic Mapping Act of 1992:
"Geologic maps contributed to the national archives [the NGMDB] should have standardized format, symbols, and technical attributes so that archival information can be assimilated, manipulated, accessed, exchanged, and compared efficiently and accurately."
--Geologic Mapping Act of 1992, section 31f(b)
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Science Citation Index 1965-present
Social Science Citation Index 1965-present
Concurrent Users: unlimited
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Full-text and abstract/index: 1975-present
Concurrent Users: unlimited
An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
The six volumes (1200+ entries) of the Encyclopedia of Geography encapsulate a diverse array of topics to offer a comprehensive and useful summary of the state of the discipline in the early 21st century. Key features: •Gives a concise historical sketch of geography’s long, rich, and fascinating history, including human geography, physical geography, and GIS •Provides succinct summaries of trends such as globalization, environmental destruction, new geospatial technologies, and cyberspace • Decomposes geography into the six broad subject areas: physical geography; human geography; nature and society; methods, models, and GIS; history of geography; and geographer biographies, geographic organizations, and important social movements •Provides hundreds of color illustrations and images that lend depth and realism to the text •Includes a special map section • Cross references between entries allow readers to pursue topics in depth
A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. This 4-vol. set is lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.