LibGuides: *Law: Overview

Overview

Law has been defined as "All the official rules and codes that govern citizens’ actions, including the Constitution, statutory laws enacted by the Legislature, case laws established by court decisions, and administrative law as set forth by executive branch agencies." (http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/legislativepub/glossary.asp, 9/3/08)

This Guide covers all three types of law: Case law on its own tab, and Statutory and Administrative law on the Bills, Laws, Rules tab.

Major Legal Reference Works

The Oxford Companion to American Law by Kermit L. Hall (Editor); Joel B. Grossman (Editor); James W. Ely (Editor); N. E. H. Hull (Editor); David S. Clark (Editor)
Call Number: KF154 .O96 2002
ISBN: 0195088786
Publication Date: 2002-05-02
This Companion offers a one-volume, alphabetically arranged, encyclopedia introducing the main lines of American law, from the institutions, people, events, and cases to the doctrines and concepts. Produced under the editorship of a board of five noted scholars, headed by Kermit L. Hall, it comprises approximately 500 entries, each written by an expert in the field.
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States by Kermit L. Hall (Editor); James W. Ely; Joel B. Grossman
Call Number: KF8742.A35 O93 2005
ISBN: 9780195176612
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
In The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States, readers have a rich source of information about one of the central institutions of American life. Everything one would want to know about the Supreme Court is here, in more than a thousand alphabetically arranged entries. There are biographies of every justice who ever sat on the Supreme Court, entries on rejected nominees and prominent judges, on presidents who had an important impact on or conflict with the Court, and on other influential figures. More than four hundred entries examine every major case that the court has decided. In addition, there are extended essays on the major issues that have confronted the Court
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions by Kermit L. Hall (Editor)
Call Number: KF4548 .O97 1999
ISBN: 0195118839
Publication Date: 1999-04-08
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions offers lively and insightful accounts of over four hundred of the most important cases ever argued before the Court. Here are the landmark decisions that have shaped American life, described by some of our most eminent legal scholars. Arranged alphabetically, each entry provides the United States Reports citation, the date the case was argued and decided, the vote of the Justices, who wrote the opinion for the Court, who concurred, and who dissented. More importantly, the entries feature an informative account of the particulars of the case, the legal and social background, the reasoning behind the Court's decision, and the case's impact on American society.
Black's Law Dictionary by Bryan A. Garner (Editor)
Call Number: KF156 .B53 2004
ISBN: 0314152342
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Arguably the most valuable reference tool available to the legal community, Black's Law Dictionary, Eighth Edition (Deluxe) provides more than 43,000 clear, concise, and precise definitions, 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms, and nearly 3,000 quotations drawn from sources over the last five centuries.
Legal Systems of the World by Herbert M. Kritzer (Editor)
Call Number: K48 .L44 2002
ISBN: 1576072312
Publication Date: 2002-06-20
Legal Systems of the World is the only comprehensive reference work that covers the legal systems of every nation on earth, every state in the Union, and every province of Canada.

Indexes & Finding Tools for Law

Oregon Digest 2d by West Pub. Co.
Call Number: KFO2457 .O71
Publication Date: 1994-
Covers State and Federal cases decided since 1843. It replaces the original [New] Oregon Digest. Digests contain short case notes arranged alphabetically by legal subject and indexed by keywords. Also includes table of cases volume to locate citations by case name. Cover title: West's Oregon digest 2d.
Shepard's United States Supreme Court case names citator
Call Number: KF101.2 .S51
Publication Date: 1987/1991-
A compilation of case names and citations of United States Supreme Court cases decided from 1900 to the present. Kept up-to-date by cumulative supplements which are replaced by bound volumes.

The bluebook : a uniform system of citation by Harvard Law Review
Call Number: Valley Reference Desk KF245 .B58
Publication Date: 2010
Guide to legal citations and abbreviations. Compiled by the editors of the Columbia law review, the Harvard law review, the University of Pennsylvania law review, and the Yale law journal.

Law Libraries

OSU does not have a law library, and even though there are legal materials in the OSU Valley Library your research may require you to access more in-depth and specialized legal resources than we have here (including access to a law librarian). Here are some nearby options:

Benton County Law Library 559 NW Monroe (corner of 6th and Monroe), Corvallis. (Most Oregon counties have a county law library open to the public, although hours are limited and potential users should call first.) 541-766-6673
John E. Jaqua Law Library, University of Oregon, Eugene
J.W. Long Law Library, Willamette University, Salem
State of Oregon Law Library 1163 State Street, Supreme Court Building, Salem. 503-986-5640

Public Library of Law. Developed by Fastcase Inc., this is the world's largest database of free law resources online. Covering both federal and state law, it contains Case Law, Statutes, Regulations, Court Rules, Constitutions, and legal forms.

PUBLIC Resources from the Oregon State Law Library

The State of Oregon Law Library (soll.libguides.com/index) provides FREE resources to all citizens of Oregon. Many are only available if you visit the library in person (1163 State Street, Salem, OR 97301; 503-986-5640 Reference, hours M-F 8-5) but there are two major resources available online.

NOLO
Available to all Oregonians, NOLO provides access to full-text legal reference publications written for consumers that allow individuals to learn about specific topics of law.

TO LOG IN:
Patron ID [your county name]
Password: oregon [all lower case]

Some of the Legal Topics discussed include adoption, child custody, criminal law, divorce, estate planning, family law, property and real estate, and small claims court.
NOTE: The NOLO Reference Guides are very general resources and not specific to Oregon Law. We strongly urge you to contact an Oregon law librarian or an Oregon attorney for assistance.
Fastcase Collection
The Fastcase collection includes the United States Code, United States Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Cases; and cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, constitutions, attorney general opinions, and session laws for Oregon, Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, and Washington.
ACCESS IS FREE but you will need to register with a valid e-mail address and be located in the state of Oregon.

Legal Aid Resources

While library staff are prohibited from giving legal advice, there are several services where people can go for help. Here are some of those services:

Legal Aid Services of Oregon – legal aid for low-income Oregonians
OregonLawHelp.org – legal information for low-income Oregonians
Oregon Judicial Department – links to appellate court opinions, family law programs, self help information, and more
State of Oregon Law Library 503-986-5640 – access to law for all Oregonians. Links to ORS, court rules, Oregon bills & laws, etc.
Oregon State Bar 503-684-3763 Public information page, including a lawyer referral service

Libraries

*Law

Disclaimer

Where can I find help in the library?

Overview

Major Legal Reference Works

Indexes & Finding Tools for Law

Law Libraries

PUBLIC Resources from the Oregon State Law Library

Legal Aid Resources

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches