Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Entomology

A guide to entomology resources

Other Databases to Try

California Beetle Database --- Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History

This database contains over 50,000 records of beetle species in California, including collection and literature records. About one-third of the records are georeferenced and mappable.

California Moth Specimen Database

as a resource to better survey and understand California moths 

Hymenoptera Online

Search for taxa, collections, authors, collectors and specimens in collections around the world.

MCZ Type Database@ Harvard Entomology

This online database contains records for primary types in the entomology collections of the Museum of Comparative Zoology (MCZ). The MCZ insect type collection, one of the largest in North America, currently preserves the primary types of more than 28,000 species, representing 29 orders, 565 families, and 7,578 genera.

NCBI

Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease.