LibGuides: *Literature*: Find Articles

Popular Databases

MLA International Bibliography
THE database for researching topics in literature, film and languages. Indexes books, journals and dissertations. Includes some full text and a "Get This Item" link to full text articles or to request the article from interlibrary loan.
Coverage Dates: 1926 - present

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
"Not as extensive as MLA International Bibliography but a good starting place for finding articles in journals and magazines.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present"
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary collection of high-quality, scholarly journals, books and primary sources. Full Text: Dates vary.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts & humanities.

Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

More useful databases

Books & Authors (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database compiles a wide range of fiction and non-fiction book titles, searchable by title, author, subject, genre, series, age range, and more. Added features include themed lists, author biographies and “My Reading Room,” a space to develop custom reading lists and create book reviews.
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,800 journals, full-text for 200 journals, and 80 ebooks this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
American Periodicals Series (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This unique and valuable collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. Deriving from the acclaimed American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
Coverage: 1740 - 1900
Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse This link opens in a new window
A description of the authors, works, manuscripts, and editions cited in the Dictionary, the Bibliography also defines the abbreviated forms under which those works are referred to, and provides cross-references to major reference sites to allow further study.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations
Coverage Dates: 1500 - present
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,500 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1863, 380 full-text journals, and 140 full-text ebooks. For Canadian and United States history, use the America: History and Life database.

Libraries

Literature

Librarian

Popular Databases

More useful databases

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches