It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a general research guide for the undergraduate and graduate courses in OSU's Electrical Engineering programs. You'll find suggestions for locating books, articles, topical overviews, research tools, and factual information.
In person: The Information Desk is on the main (2nd) floor of the Valley Library.
Chat with a librarian (below)
Start Broadly - 1Search
Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to. If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.
Recommended Databases for Electrical Engineering
To identify articles on electrical engineering topics, start with one of these three databases.
Engineering Index (Compendex) covers all areas of engineering including: acoustical; aerospace; automotive; biological; chemical; civil; computer; electrical; electronic; energy;environmental; geologic; mechanical; metallurgical; mining; and robotics.
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) is a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. You can search Web of Science for articles that cite a known author or work.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
ACM Digital Library citations and full text from ACM journals, conference proceedings and newsletters.
arXiv arXiv is an e-print service including the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science.
2005 - present
Access includes Synthesis collections 1-4. This includes 100 titles in Collection 1 and 125 Titles in Collection 2 Collections 3 and 4 are still growing. This subscription is shared between OSU and U of O. The Synthesis Collections are comprised of short, authoritative electronic books (50-70 pages) that provide a grounding in a particular topic area. They are ideal as supplementary material for courses, or for researchers delving into new areas.