Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Chemistry*

This is a general research guide for undergraduate and graduate courses in Chemistry

e-Reference

Dictionaries, Handbooks, Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Organic Compounds   Valley QD251 .D5

Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds   Valley QD411 .D53 1984

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology   Valley  TP9 .K54 2004 (26 vol.)

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry  Valley  QD4 .M33 1997 (4 vol.)

Handbooks

Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry (Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie)  Valley  QD251 .B401 (using the print Beilstein).

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics (Online, Latest edition only) 

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics (Print) Valley QD 65 .C5 (Note: some tables in previous editions have been moved or removed). 

Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry (Gmelin Handbuch der anorganischen Chemie)  Valley  QD151 .G55

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry  Valley TP151 .L2

Merck Index   Valley  RS356 .M555

Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook   Valley  TP151 .P45

Property / Spectral Data

ASU Libraries:  Property Data Index 

The index on the right side of the page is especially useful for locating resources containing the property of interest.  Check the OSU Libaries Catalog to determine if we have the print resources listed in the index.  

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)

Free web resource created by the Japanese National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)

Reaction Sources

Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis   Valley  QD77 .E53 1995

Inorganic Reactions and Methods   QD501 .I623 1986

Organic Reactions   QD251 .O7

Chemical Prices

These resources are good starting places for finding suppliers and prices for specific chemicals.