- Borrow & Request
- Collections
- Help
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
- About
Publisher-provided information about accessibility
View the HTML version if available as the PDF files are often without headings and therefore diffucult to navigate. Before you can download any full text item you will need to disable your pop up blocker as full text opens in a new window. Use Adobe Reader to convert the PDF, although it still may not read in a linear way. Articles can also be converted to a more accessible format using OCR (Optical Character Recognition) equipment.
Publisher-provided accessibility guide
EBSCOhost provides books and articles in PDF or EPUB (HTML) formats, most of which are screen reader accessible. Unlimited titles (DRM-free) can be downloaded and opened in any compatible app. Some publishers require download limits. In these cases, the title can be read online, or opened using the free Adobe Digital Editions app.
Note: Books and articles published before 2004 may not be screenreader accessible. If an item is inaccessible, you can request a remediated copy via their online request form, or you can email libary.accessibility@oregonstate.edu for assistance.
Elsevier's Accessibility statement
As of January 1, 2023, Oregon State University Libraries no longer subscribes to Elsevier ScienceDirect. Open Access articles are still available. Please do not pay for articles! Articles behind a paywall can instead be requested using Interlibrary Loan or via Article Delivery Service. In either case, include notes about your needs and we will work to find an accessible copy on your behalf.
Publisher-provided Accessibility Policy
Gale Databases customizes their platforms to be accessible to screenreaders and asssistive technology. The majority of materials are available in HTML with OCR. Gale also provides a native screen reader "Readspeaker" for the majority of their resources. A full list of accessibility features is available on their website.
Some materials, particularly older documents, may not be ADA-compliant. If you encounter a barrier, please request an accessible copy via interlibrary loan or by contacting library.accessibility@oregonstate.edu
Publisher-provided information about accessibility
JSTOR is a repository of images and primary sources that may have been created prior to the invention of accessibility technology. All images have alt-text, but the quality may vary. If you need assistance with the content of this database, please contact us a library.accessibility@oregonstate.edu.
The JSTOR website is built to be screenreader and keyboard-only accessible. PDFs are automatically tagged and are offered as free downloads.
Search results appear in the order:
To access the full text of articles either choose Download from the results list, or click on the article title to read inside the browser. If a PDF is not sufficiently tagged, JSTOR can manually tag PDFs. For more information see the JSTOR accessibility pages.
List of JSTOR resources from the A-Z Databases list
To search from initial page list the links and select Search. Search results are displayed in the order of check box, result number, reference details and then View HTML and View PDF to read the full text. Select View HTML, which includes heading levels to aid navigation.
More information on Project Muse accessibility
Internet Explorer users who want to specify date ranges in Advanced Search must use ALT + DOWN ARROW to open the Date Range combo box and use the up and down arrows to move through the options. Press enter to choose the appropriate date range, which may then open another box for you to enter the date details. If you don't access the combo box this way JAWS is confused when the additional date range boxes are automatically generated as you move through the options and stops reading. Choose Full Text, rather than Full Text - PDF, where available. Once you are in Full Text, select level heading 2, to move straight to the full text. This is not a known issue with FireFox.
Accessibility reports for individual ProQuest databases - https://support.proquest.com/s/article/Accessibility-Directory?language=en_US
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) converts and stores submitted articles to the ANSI/NISO Z39.96-2015 JATS eXtensible Markup Language (XML) format, which enables long-term preservation and supports accessibility. NLM displays articles in PMC in structured HTML that is responsive to different screen sizes and devices and compatible with assistive technologies to enable broad accessibility. Pubmed has recently been amended so that article titles now appear as links to further information, rather than the authors, so the database is easier to navigate.
NLM makes every effort to ensure that the information available on our websites is accessible to all. If you use assistive technology to access the web and experience problems using our site, please let us know by contacting NLM Customer Service at custserv@nlm.nih.gov or through the NLM Support Center or by phone at (888) FIND-NLM (346-3656) or (301) 594-5983. Please have available the URL, PMCID, or journal and article title with which you need assistance, along with a description of the problem. We will work with you to provide the information to you in an alternate format.
Search results are listed in order of relevance rather than date. If you list the links on the page you will hear In the last week, In the last two weeks etc. These will take you to the references added within these time periods and after each link there will be a number telling you how many references are available. The article title provides a link to the abstract and full text options, which is usually PDF only. If you list the links on the page the PDF link reads as Entire Document and HTML, if available as Open Full Text. The PDF is untagged and needs to be converted using Adobe Reader. Sometimes when HTML full text appears to be available only a link to the abstract is provided. We are querying this with the supplier
Text Resizing
The site text can be resized to help readability for individual users. In order to resize the text please follow the instructions below:
PC / all browsers:
CTRL key and press +CTRL key and press –Mac / all browsers:
Command key and press +Command key and press –Browser Support
Wiley Online Library has been built using code compliant with W3C standards for HTML and CSS. The site displays correctly in the latest stable versions of Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Safari, and Opera. For older browsers, visual design may be slightly compromised but all content will be readable, and features will function as intended. The site can also be accessed on tablet and mobile devices, and a selection of pages are optimized for those devices.
Wiley Screen Reader
Before using Wiley screen reader, users need to ensure they have done the following to be able to read the full text. In Adobe Reader 8, open the Document menu and select Accessibility Setup Assistant. Click on Next until the fifth screen and ensure that the last option "Display PDF documents in the web browser" is not checked.
Access the basic search box on the home page by listing the Form Fields on the page and then "Enter words or phrases edit". A link to Advanced Search enables you to narrow a search by product type (journal or book). You can also browse by subject or product type. Search results are displayed in the format article title, journal title, reference details, author name then links to Abstract, References and PDF (full text). The article title is not provided as a link and not all articles are available in full text. Full text is not provided on Wiley if you are taken to a page with the heading Access article, Options for accessing this content. If you have conducted a search you can read the article or chapter titles by listing the Form Fields on the page. If you browse you will not have this option and will need to read the page linearly.
If you right click on a PDF link and Save target as, it will be saved as HTML, but open in Adobe Reader.
University of Arizona Libraries, © 2023 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501
Phone: 541-737-3331
