This collection was developed with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve serials related to African American religious life and culture. It documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922. More than 170 unique titles, approximately 60,000 pages of searchable primary source content, and reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies and African American periodicals are included.

Also known as Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876. This historical collection contains hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.

American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. 1832-1953.

The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.

The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.

ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.

Searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years
Trace the history and evolution of myriad aspects of LGBT history and culture, including legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature

From the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, the countries of the Middle East and North Africa have witnessed their fair share of history. The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (1918-2015), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.
Titles Provided:
 

• Americas
• Church & State
• Common Cause Magazine
• Dollars & Sense
• Europe
• Fellowship
• In These Times
• NATO Review
• New Internationalist
• Newsweek
• State Legislatures
• UN Chronicle
• The Unesco Courier
• Whole Earth

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (1918-2015), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.
Titles Provided:
 

• Americas
• Church & State
• Common Cause Magazine
• Dollars & Sense
• Europe
• Fellowship
• In These Times
• NATO Review
• New Internationalist
• Newsweek
• State Legislatures
• UN Chronicle
• The Unesco Courier
• Whole Earth

Research Portland history through the Oregonian Collection with coverage from 1861 through current. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.

The Oregon Index is a selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. The database does not contain full-text information. 

Coverage: 
Coos Bay World, Jan 1996 - May 1996 
Corvallis Gazette Times, 1995 - Nov 15, 1999 
Daily Astorian 1998-1990 
Eugene Register-Guard, Jan1988 - 
Klamath Falls Herald & News, Jan - May 1996 
LaGrande Observer, 1995 - 
Lake Oswego Review, 1996 - 
Portland Oregonian, Jan 1985-Dec 1992 
Salem Statesman Journal, Jan 1987 - Sept 2002 
Tigard Times, 1996 - 
West Linn Tidings, Aug 13, 1998 - 
Willamette Week, 1974 - 
Wilsonville Spokesman, 1995 - (incomplete coverage)

Search citations to news articles about intellectual freedom issues in Oregon. The database includes 460 plus citations to newspaper articles from 1946 – 2010. Updated regularly.

Searchable full text and full image articles from the St. Louis Post-Dispatch newspaper from 1874-2003.

An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.