Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nuclear History in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Historical primary sources on nuclear history and atomic energy

Nuclear History in the Special Collections & Archives Research Center

Nuclear history is one of the deepest and broadest strengths in the collections of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC). Portions of our rare book collections, together with selected manuscript and archival collections, cover nearly every facet of this topic in some way. This subject guide explores our holdings across these collections, and highlights many of the sub-topics of nuclear history present in the collections.

About SCARC

The Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) maintains and makes available the University's unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, and books. Subject strengths include:

We acknowledge that materials in SCARC collections and the language that describes them may be harmful. We are actively working to address our descriptive practices; for more information please see our SCARC Anti-Racist Actions Statement.

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center public service point is located in the Reading Room on the 5th Floor of the Valley Library at Oregon State University. If you plan to visit us, please check our calendar.

See our Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center for more on how to visit SCARC, find our collections, and research tips.

SCARC Services During COVID-19

To contribute to a safer and healthy community for OSU faculty, staff, and students, as well as the greater Corvallis community, the Special Collections and Archives Research Center will be open by appointment only until further notice.

SCARC staff are committed to mitigating the risks associated with on-site collection consultations through a quarantine period of research materials before and after each appointment, disinfection of surfaces and high-touch points, wearing face coverings, and appropriate physical distancing.

We miss seeing you in our reading room, and while SCARC’s on-site public services are limited at this time, remote reference inquiries are being addressed to the best of our ability. There is a wealth of online content in Oregon Digital, on the SCARC website, in ScholarsArchive@OSU, in SCARC LibGuides, and on OSU MediaSpace, and public services staff are available to assist you in navigating and searching these sites.

See our COVID Services guide for information about our services during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Contact Us

Your archivists are here to help!

Staff of the library’s Special Collections and Archives Research Center are available for virtual reference consultations. Please email us at scarc@oregonstate.edu if you have questions or would like to set up an appointment.