LibGuides: ANS 302: Common Diseases of Companion Animals: Journal Articles

Start Broadly - 1Search

Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to. If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

Google Scholar

A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU Libraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:

How to use Google Scholar (without Paying for the Articles)

Recommended Databases for Animal Sciences

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings and other materials in agriculture, nutrition, and veterinary medicine. International scope.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the agricultural and environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements.Abstracts and index: 1967-present
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database contains sources from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Links to over 300 journals in Academic Search Premier.

Medline (EBSCOhost)
MEDLINE is the premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and basic research in biochemistry, endocrinology, genetics, microbiology, molecular and cellular biology, and physiology. Although it focuses primarily on human medicine, it does contain information on animal testing, research, diagnosis and treatment.
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index to research articles covering all areas of medicine including clinical and experimental medicine; health care administration; microbiology; nursing; paramedical professions; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; psychiatry; psychology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine. PubMed is direct from the National Library of Medicine web site.
Abstracts and index: 1966-present
Proxy enabled to ensure optimal access for ONID users
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of wildlife research.
Index only: 1935-present
Concurrent Users: 5
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science accesses information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list, you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Other Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present

Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses multidisciplinary information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or article.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present

Finding the full text of an article

Look for the button to open the full article.

Options for getting to the PDF will open in a new window. Sometimes the link will take you to the journal, not the individual article. Use the citation information for the article to get to the right year, volume and issue of the journal.

If the library doesn't have it, request the article for free from Interlibrary Loan. On average, articles arrive digitally within one business day.

Libraries

ANS 302: Common Diseases of Companion Animals

Librarian

Start Broadly - 1Search

Google Scholar

Recommended Databases for Animal Sciences

Other Databases

Finding the full text of an article

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches