Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Agricultural Sciences

This guide introduces agriculture information resources for OSU students, faculty, and staff.

Start Broadly - 1Search

Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to.  If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

 

Start Broadly - Google Scholar

Google Scholar

You do allow embedded content.

A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU Libraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:

How to use Google Scholar (without Paying for the Articles)

Recommended Agriculture Databases

Begin with these databases to locate articles and research findings on specific agriculture topics.

Other Agriculture Databases

Search with Subject Databases

Watch the Searching in Subject Databases video below to learn:

  • the benefits of using subject-specific databases
  • how to find subject databases in your area at OSU Libraries
  • how to narrow your results, think of new keywords, and set up saved searches
  • how to troubleshoot your search, especially when you have few or no results.

Note - use the chapter menu (three lines in the upper left corner of the video) to jump to different topics.

Practice Recommendations:

  • Choose a subject database in your field
  • Enter some search terms
  • Practice narrowing your search
  • Find new keyword ideas
  • Open the full-text of an article
  • Look for options for setting up search alerts

Finding the full text of an article

 Look for the 360 link to full text button to open the full article.

Options for getting to the PDF will open in a new window. Sometimes the link will take you to the journal, not the individual article. Use the citation information for the article to get to the right year, volume and issue of the journal.

If the library doesn't have it, request the article for free from Interlibrary Loan: https://library.oregonstate.edu/ill

Citing with ZoteroBib

Watch the citing with ZoteroBib video to learn how to quickly create bibliographies based on the sources you find in any database or search tool. ZoteroBib is a free, web-based tool.

ZoteroBib Video