LibGuides: NUTR 423: Community Nutrition: Finding Articles

Start Broadly - 1Search

Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to. If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

Google Scholar

A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU LIbraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:

How to use Google Scholar (without Paying for the Articles)

Recommended Databases for Nutrition

To identify articles on nutrition topics, start with these databases.

CAB Abstracts
This database includes abstracts from a wide variety of international agricultural literature. Areas covered include: food composition and safety, animal nutrition; crop science; horticulture; human nutrition; and rural development.
Coverage Dates: 1973 - present
PubMed (Medline)
Research articles covering all areas of medicine including clinical and experimental medicine; dentistry; health care administration; microbiology; nursing; nutrition; paramedical professions; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; psychiatry; psychology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine. PubMed is direct from the National Library of Medicine web site.
Abstracts and index: 1966-present
Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Science Citation Index 1970-present
Social Science Citation Index 1970-present

Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present