Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to.  If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

In most of the library's databases, look for this button (or a link with the FindIt@OSU text) to try and access your article online.

When looking for articles, you will see that some articles are available immediately online from our library in full text. First, click on the Full text available link, then choose a full text link in the View It section of the page to get the article online.

Within 1Search, you may see articles with a "check for available services" link. Click that link, then look under the "How to get it" section for "Request from Interlibrary Loan" to place a request for that article.  

In many OSU Libraries Databases and in Google Scholar, look for the  button to open the full article.

If the library doesn't have it, request the article for free from Interlibrary Loan.

Watch this video to learn how to set up your OSU interlibrary loan account so you can get articles emailed to you — even when OSU Libraries doesn't have a subscription to the journal.

Watch this video to learn how to place a request through OSU's interlibrary loan.

Requesting an Article

1. To request a journal article through the Article Delivery Service, go to OSU Libraries' 1Search and then sign in using your ONID credentials.

2. Next, search for the article title you are interested in (or paste in the title if you already know it). Click on the article title. If the article is available via open access methods, click the open access link. If not, scroll down the page and click "Article Delivery Service."

3. Click "request PDF" on the following screen.

4. Within an hour you will receive an email with a link to access the article you requested. You will have 30 days to download this article to your computer.

Troubleshooting Tips

Open access articles - If you attempt to request an article that has an open access version available, you will receive a link to the open access version instead.

Interlibrary loan only message - If you attempt to request an article that falls outside of the date range our Article Delivery Service covers, you will be redirected to our Interlibrary Loan service to place a request via that method. Interlibrary Loan requests take just a little longer than Article Delivery Service requests to arrive -- typical Interlibrary Loan requests arrive within one business day.

Unable to download the article - If you are unable to download the article for any reason, please contact us through any of the Ask a Librarian methods.

Step 1:  To make Google Scholar talk to the OSU Libraries collection, go to the Settings link, located on the top left corner of the page:

Step 2:  Click the gear icon. Depending on your display, this icon may be on the upper right or on the bottom of the settings menu.

Step 3:  On the left-hand side of the Scholar Settings page, choose Library links.

Step 4:  Next either search for Oregon State University in the search box or simply use the checkbox next to Oregon State University. Make sure you click Save.

Now, when you do a search, your results list will look like this.  Click on the Find it at OSU link to get to either the full-text of the article or an easy option for requesting the article through interlibrary loan.  Notice that if the article doesn't have a Find it at OSU link, you can click on the More symbol (two arrow-like symbols) to try and Find at OSU.

Sometimes Google Scholar results do not have the Find it at OSU link. However, if there is a PDF item included in the search result, that will take you directly to a PDF- no OSU access needed.