Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use a Database
The most common way to search for journal articles is to use a bibliographic database. Bibliographic databases contain citation information for journal articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, etc. A database may also have an abstract of the article, as well as keywords that describe the article. Because databases cover different content, you may have to search multiple databases for a comprehensive search.
- Go to the Library home page and click on Databases(under Find It). This will take you to an alphabetical list of all our databases.
- To see a list of databases recommended for a specific discipline, use the Filter drop-down on the database page. Select a general topic area from the drop-down and click Search.
Databases for Scholarly Articles
MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and is the largest biomedical literature database. Includes over 18 million citations to articles related to all aspects of health and medicine and is international in scope.
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Abstracts and index: 1963-present
Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
Women's Studies International
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports research and curriculum development in the areas of women studies, sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
Coverage Dates: 1972 - present
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
Set Google Scholar Preferences
You can customize Google Scholar to show you links to articles through OSU Libraries. Go to the "Gear" icon in the upper right corner of the Google Scholar page. Select and set your Scholar Preferences by entering Oregon State University in the Library Links field and choosing the "Oregon State University Libraries - Find it at OSU" option.
Interlibrary Loan is a free service that allows you to get journal articles that are not at OSU Libraries. To use this service, log in with your ONID username and password and fill out a request form.
You will receive an email when your article has arrived. Please allow at least one week for your article(s) to arrive.