Skip to main content

*Ecampus Library Videos

Videos for Ecampus and remote students and instructors who want to learn more about the OSU Libraries and doing library research at a distance.

Everything you need to know about OSU Libraries in under 4 minutes

The OSU Libraries is here to help you with your research. We offer

  • research assistance
  • access to online journals and ebooks
  • document and book delivery services
  • and so much more.

You can use all these resources, even if you are not in the Corvallis area.

This web site has a lot of information on it about what we have and how you can get access. Feel free to look around and get to know the library a little. If you have questions, don't hesitate to contact us. That's why we are here.

Everything you need to know about OSU LIbraries in under 4 minutes

Embed this video in Canvas

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/q91ikLZFp_g" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Introduction to the Library

Recordings:

Part 1: A Quick Introduction (2:19)

Part 2: Interlibrary Loan-What is it and how do I use it? (1:50)

Part 3: Finding and Getting Books (4:55)

Part 4: Finding and Getting Articles (4:03)

Part 5: Google Scholar: Why do I need to pay? (3:40)

Are you doing a research paper this quarter and don’t know where to start? Working on your thesis? Are you new to OSU? Did your professor say you need to use “credible sources”? Want to know more about the library in general?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, then these videos are your starting point.

Database Power Searching (Recorded)

Database Power Searching (60 minutes)

Do you want to search the online databases more effectively? Tired of just the same old keyword searching? Do you want to be a “power user”?

This webinar is all about effective database searching. Searching a database takes time and some planning but it does not have to be terribly difficult. Find out about choosing an appropriate database, discovering key words, using database tools such as subject headings to help make your search more relevant, and other top secret librarian search tricks. You'll also learn how the online databases work with the new 1Search.

Citing Your Sources using the APA 6th edition (Recorded)

Citing Your Sources using APA 6th edition (90 minutes)

Do you use citation management software like EndNote or Zotero or those built into the databases? Even though you can automatically generate a bibliography pretty easily these days, it does not mean it will be correct. Citation management programs make plenty of mistakes and you need to be able to spot them and correct them. This webinar is all about the American Psychological Association style manual (6th edition) and how to cite your sources correctly and spot those errors that can lose you points on your paper.

Keeping Track of your Resources (Recorded)

Keeping Track of Your Research (60 minutes)

You are working on many projects and papers and it’s all getting a little bit overwhelming. Instead of using scraps of paper, let technology help you manage your research. How do you keep track of all those articles and books and web pages you found? This webinar will show you how to use the databases to keep track and introduce you to some citation management software.