LibGuides: ENG 345: Introduction to Literary Criticism and Theory: Journal Articles

English

MLA International Bibliography with Fulltext (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Coverage is from 1926-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archival collection of journal articles that includes titles in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. It does not provide access to the most current issues of the journals. JSTOR's agreements with publishers include a gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years. OSU Libraries subscribes to all JSTOR Archive Collections, JSTOR Primary Sources Collections, and JSTOR Global Plants.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University, Project MUSE is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts & humanities.

Interdisciplinary databases

If your theory or text engages across disciplines, the following databases may be especially useful.

Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index (API) indexes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API covers theories and practices of socialism and revolution along with the topics of Ecology, Democracy and Anarchism, Feminism and Organized Labor, Indigenous Peoples and Gays/Lesbians from 1969 to 1990.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 150 full-text magazines and journals that are covered in indices such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide support for research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains abstracts and full text for hundreds of the important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more. You can also find many full-text monographs and books. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is included and this database provides an LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

You can also look at the A-Z list of all databases, and sort by subject to find things of relevance to your topic.

Searching a Database

The most effective way to search the online databases is to enter terms or keywords that effectively describe your topic.

Use broad, meaningful keywords when you search. Don't use sentences or phrases.
Use just a few keywords (1-3). You can always add keywords later if you need to refine your search.
Use the facets or limits to help refine your search. For example, you can narrow your search by date or by geographic region.
When you review your results, look at the abstracts or subject headings for other keywords you can use to improve your search.
Be prepared to do several searches. Research is a process that takes time.

Choosing a Database

Online databases are a good place to start when you are searching for articles -- especially scholarly and peer-reviewed articles. Databases are searchable collections of research and other articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. You can search for articles by topic or, if you already know the information, by author or title.

Not all articles in a database include the article's full text.

Go to OSU Libraries and click on Databases A-Z (below the search box). This will take you to an alphabetical list of all our databases.
To see a list of databases recommended for a specific discipline, use the Subject drop-down on Databases A-Z. Select a subject area from the drop-down and click Search.
Most databases include a brief description which tells you more about the type of materials included in the database and the topics and time periods it covers.

Electronic Journals

E-journals are another good research tool. if you are looking for articles on a topic, you will want to use the databases (see the Finding articles tab). It's more efficient than browsing through journals. If you want to see what is being published in your discipline or what the current hot topics are, then browsing through a journal can be very helpful. With e-journals, you can browse the table of content of a journal without coming to the library.

OSU Libraries subscribes to over 80,000 electronic journals (e-journals). It's easiest to search the e-journals if you have a specific journal or citation to locate. Always note the date range available for each journal subscription.

Search for a specific e-journal title
Search for a print journal (if we don't have an online version)

Remember that if we don't have a journal online, we can still get a copy of an article for you via Interlibrary Loan.

Finding an Article's Full Text

Once you find your article's entry in a database, check whether the database provides the full-text article. If it does, the database will provide a link to a "full-text PDF", "full text available online", or something similar.

If the database doesn't provide a full-text article, click on the FindIt@OSU button to see if OSU subscribes to the electronic or the paper copy of the journal. FindIt@OSU will open a new window and will display a link to full-text when available. If not, request the article from Interlibrary Loan

Finding the full text of an article

Libraries

ENG 345: Introduction to Literary Criticism and Theory

Instruction & Emerging Technologies Librarian

English

Interdisciplinary databases

Searching a Database

Choosing a Database

Electronic Journals

Finding an Article's Full Text

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches