This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Forestry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Forestry  

This is a general guide for the Faculty, Graduate Students, Undergraduate Students, and Staff in the College of Forestry at Oregon State University.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/Forestry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Databases (for locating articles)

Use these databases to locate articles and research findings on specific forestry and forest science related topics.  A complete list of Databases is linked from the "FIND IT" tab OSU Library homepage.

  • Web of Science
    Indexes thousands of scholarly journals in all disciplines. You can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, author affliation and you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work.
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Provides indexing and in many cases full-text coverage to nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals.
    Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
  • CAB Abstracts  Icon
    Forestry content since 1973 is available in the CAB Abstracts. This is the premier index for forestry, forest products and other aspects of rural and leisure studies research. Adding "KK" in the "Cabicode" field to your search will limit your search to the forestry related areas. Indexes articles, government reports and other forestry publications.
    Coverage Dates: 1973 - present
  • Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications  Icon
    Treesearch contains the full-text of peer reviewed, published research findings of the U.S. Forest Service. It includes not only agency publications, but also articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books whose authors are employed by the Forest Service. As the USFS proceeds with retrospective digitization of its publications, these are also added to TreeSearch.
    Coverage Dates: 2004 - present
 

Browsing E-Journals

If you would like to browse forestry related e-journals, these links will take you to lists of journals related to the broad subjects listed below. Time coverage varies and currently more is in paper than electronically. For a more comprehensive search on a narrower topic, be sure to use the databases first. 

 

Scan & Deliver - Interlibrary Loan

When you see an article of interest in a database, follow the "360 link to full-text" -- This will bring you back to our library.  If the article is not available electronically from our subscriptions, then you can use the request feature (Scan & Deliver) and it will be sent to you (that will take 48 hours if it is in the library collection and longer if it is not). 

The same system is used for requesting any article which is unavailable from the library's collection. That service is called "interlibrary loan" or "ILL" for short.

Before you use Scan & Deliver OR ILL for the first time, you need to register.  You can get this done ahead of time by going to:  https://access.library.oregonstate.edu/FirstTime.html

  • Read over the registration information and then follow the "first time users click here" button
  • From then on, you will either go directly to the login page at https://access.library.oregonstate.edu/ when you have an article you can't find OR
  • be sent there directly when you are using the 360-link to fulltext in a database

If you use GoogleScholar remember that you can set your "Scholar Preferences" so that it knows you are part of OSU by noting your "Library Links" as:

  • Oregon State University Libraries -- find it at OSU  (essential for journal articles)
  • Open WorldCat - Library Search (good for books)

If you have not started in a database or the catalog, you will find the link to Scan & Deliver (and Interlibrary Loan) is located under the "FIND IT" tab on the library home page. 

Other databases to consider

These additional databases and e-resource collections below will be useful in locating scholarly/peer reviewed articles on Forest and Forestry related topics.

  • AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Links to over 300 journals in Academic Search Premier.
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • Compendex (Engineering Index)  Icon
    This is a major engineering index and can be useful for many forest engineering topics among others.
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)  Icon
    Good resource for environmental impact statements and impact of forest practices.
    Coverage Dates: 1967 - present
  • E. V. Komarek Fire Ecology Database  Icon
    The E.V. Komarek Fire Ecology Database is comprised of bibliographic citations to a broad collection of fire ecology literature. Historical and current works are included in the database some with abstracts.
    Coverage Dates: 1987 - present
  • GreenFILE  Icon
    Research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Greenfile serves as an informative resource for the interested novice.
    Coverage Dates: mid-1960's - present
  • JSTOR Plant Science  Icon
    JSTOR specializes in giving you access to the older years of journals. For studying the plants associated with forests and rangelands, this can be a useful resource
    Coverage Dates: 1816 -
  • Social Sciences in Forestry  Icon
    This database indexes publications in 41 subject areas relating the social sciences to forestry. Among them are: legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment and finance, and more. This is a small database and is not linked into the "360 link" features of the larger ones.
    Coverage Dates: 1985 - present
  • Trail Planning, Construction, and Maintenance  Icon
    Indexes publications relating to the planning, design, construction, and maintenance of all types of trails. Includes trail use studies. This is a small database and is not linked into the "360 link" features of the larger ones.
    Coverage Dates: 1984 - present
  • Tropical Forest Conservation and Development  Icon
    Subjects indexed include: Tropical forest resources; deforestation; conservation; indigenous peoples; management; policy; trade and industrial development; nontimber forest products; research, education, and training; and history. This is a small database and is not linked into the "360 link" features of the larger ones. For related subjects, see the online index Social Sciences in Forestry.
    Coverage Dates: 1982 - present
  • Urban Forestry  Icon
    Subjects indexed include the history of urban forestry; urban forest legislation; the benefits of urban forests, selection and planting of trees; maintenance of the urban forest; planning and management; and urban forestry programs. This is a small database and is not linked into the "360 link" features of the larger ones.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide  Icon
    Index to journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of wildlife research.
    Index only: 1935-present
    Coverage Dates: 1935 - present

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Bonnie Avery
 

Library Contacts

Whenever you have questions about the Library send them to:

email: valley.reference@oregonstate.edu

Chat/Text/Phone/In-person: http://library.oregonstate.edu/reference

 

Accessing Journals

To determine if the library owns the journals you need use the "FIND IT" tab on the library home page and find these links:

Verify that the dates of coverage or the print holdings include the volume/issue you need.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip