Skip to main content
Oregon State University OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

OSU Libraries

Grants

Resources for finding research or project grant funding, information about grant makers, and help for writing grants.

Grants: Subscription Databases for OSU users

 

 

OSU Libraries have two databases to help you identify grant opportunities:

Help with the Databases

A page of GRANT FORWARD Tutorials (videos and downloadable documents) is available on the Support page. Included:

  • Tutorial Videos : Creating a Grant Forward Account / How to Search / Using Search Filters / Manipulating Search Results / Creating a Profile

  • Tutorial Documents : Printable Brochure / Search Overview / Starting Your Search / Search Results / Annotation

Foundation Directory Online has a Help page, including links to sample searches you can use as a guide to searching the database.

Federal Government Resources

The Federal Government is a rich source of grant funding of all kinds. Some online tools make it easier to find government grants.

 

Aggregated Sources

Databases that pull together information from a variety of agencies and other sources:

Grants.gov is the primary access to federal grants from all 26 government grant-making agencies. Aimed primarily at the program/project level (it does not include personal financial assistance) it significantly streamlines the grant search and application process.

Federal Student Aid (Dept. of Education) is the portal for finding individual federal student financial assistance. Includes general information about the entire student aid process, with many links to further information. Primary audience is undergraduates, but has links to some resources for graduate students.  http://studentaid.ed.gov/

CareerOneStop (Dept. of Labor) is for students to search for scholarships and educational money at every level (not just undergrads), http://www.careerinfonet.org/scholarshipsearch/

Individual Agencies

Most agencies are using Grants.gov, but some individual websites still exist and may be useful if your primary grant source is a single agency.

National Science Foundation -- Find Funding page

National Institute of Health -- Office of Extramural Research

Environmental Protection Agency  -- Grants and Fellowship Information. Includes environmental education grants

National Endowment for the Humanities -- independent grant-making agency of the U.S. government dedicated to supporting research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities.

Foundations

Council on Foundations -- a national nonprofit association of approximately 2,000 grantmaking foundations and corporations.

The Foundation Center -- nonprofit service organization and leading authority on organized private philanthropy in the U.S. A major source of grant information and news; includes a section on international grant information, and has free training materials (many in multiple languages) including a Proposal Writing Short Course. Some searching is also free (in the Foundation Directory Online Free database), but there is access to other database searching available to individuals for a fee.

Online Publications

An open access publication available to all without subscription:

The following reference work requires OSU student, faculty or staff status to access:

Print Resources for Grant Seekers

Grant and Scholarship Resources for Minorities and Women

Here are a few resources with information for minority and international grant seekers:

OSU's Financial Aid page is the first place to check.

The Graduate School can provide some help:

  • See the Financing Your Graduate Education link on their website.
  • Look there for information on the McNair Scholars Program, the nation's leading pipeline of low income/first generation undergraduate students, many from underrepresented minority groups, who have been prepared for doctoral study and eventual careers in the professoriate. The program is funded by the U.S. Department of Education.

Check your OSU college's website for information, similar to this page from the College of Engineering: Scholarships: Women and Minorities in Engineering

Grant and Scholarship Resources for International Students

On the OSU website: 

Find information about a scholarship for International students on the International Cultural Service Program page.

Also see the Scholarships for International Students page from the Office of Admissions/International Admissions

Look also at the International Postdocs information page on the Graduate School website.