"In a world of tightening budgets and increased competition for grant money, Developing a Winning Grant Proposal provides the guidelines, strategies, plans, and techniques to craft a fundable grant proposal. A user-friendly, engaging, and up-to-date guide, this book covers the entire process from the inception of a good idea, to the formulation of a strong proposal, to the next steps once a proposal is funded. Providing a basic overview and helpful tools for busy faculty and researchers, this is a must-have guide for anyone interested in the mechanisms that successful grant writers employ. Special Features Include:Appendices with a "Model of a Funded Proposal" and a "Basic Toolbox for Grant Seekers"Checklists for self-evaluating the efficacy of each portion of the grant proposalCoverage of complex issues in a concise and clear manner, perfect for grant writers facing tight time constraints"--
This concise guide covers the important angles of your grant application, whether for a health research project or personal training programme, and will help you be among the successful applicants. The author, a reviewer for grant funding organisations and internationally respected research scientist, gives you the benefit of his experience from both sides of the process in this easy-to-use, readable guide. The book takes you through the grant application process, explaining how to: Present the justification for the proposed project Describe the study design clearly Estimate the financial costs Understand a typical review process, and how this can influence the contents of the grant application The author provides practical advice on a range of project types (observational studies, clinical trials, laboratory experiments, and systematic reviews) to increase the chance that your application will be successful. There are also tips on what to avoid throughout the application. With generic information about application requirements, How to Write a Grant Application is ideal for healthcare professionals seeking a health services or scientific grant.
Organizing your ideas -- Monitoring funding sources -- Establishing needs -- Beginning elements of the proposal -- Procedures, management, and evaluation -- Calculating a budget -- Preparing research proposals -- Submitting the proposal.
In the highly competitive arena of grantseeking, fundraisers need resources in order to win grants and fulfill their organization's mission. This new, thoroughly updated edition of the bestseller offers a guide that any organization can use to secure funding from private foundations or the government. Filled with updated examples, this guide directs the novice grantseeker and offers a refresher course for experienced grantwriters. Following the process presented will improve anyone's ability to transform an idea that needs support into a proposal that demands funding. As part of the new Jossey-Bass Nonprofit Guidebook Series, Winning Grants has sold over 75,000 copies in its first two editions and has established itself as a leader in the grantseeking market.
Print Resources from the OSU Libraries Catalog
Write an Effective Funding Application
by Mary W. Walters
Call Number: HG177.W35 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
In a world where the opportunity to advance scholarly and scientific knowledge is dependent on the ability to secure sufficient funding, researchers and scholars must write funding proposals that stand out from the competition. The practical advice in this guidebook is designed to aid academics in writing successful applications at all stages of their careers. This book will help grant applicants plan and craft funding proposals that are concise, complete, and impressive -- and that satisfy the mandates of the agencies to which they are applying. Applicants will learn how to • Avoid common writing blunders• Understand the central importance of the research budget• Overcome procrastination• Choose and secure professional references• Develop a career path with a view toward funding opportunities• Maintain a winning attitude that will improve the chances of success Write an Effective Funding Application details the all-important preparation stage in drafting a grant application, from identifying sources of funding and securing registration numbers to creating a schedule for meeting the application deadline. It reviews the nuts and bolts of writing and polishing a winning application, stressing the importance of logical thinking and thoughtful presentation. The book includes detailed information on developing budgets, "before" and "after" versions of proposals, and descriptions of common pitfalls that everyone can avoid.
by Charles M. Achilles; Ernest W. Brewer; Nancy S. Headlee (Contribution by); Stephen D. Stockton (Contribution by)
Call Number: LB2342.4.U6 B74 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-28
The fifth edition of this bestseller brings the reader up-to-date with newly researched Web sites and effective strategies for writing government, foundation, and private grants.
Grant Writing in Higher Education
by Kenneth T. Henson
Call Number: LC241.H46 2004
Publication Date: 2003-06-18
This book helps grant writers in higher education to secure funding. It identifies positive and negative attitudes that affect producing highly desirable and fundable proposals. A Steps and Guidelines section helps make sure the reader finishes the book with a clear idea of how to prepare successful proposals. A separate segment on Preparing Budgets shows how to prepare budgets that will impress the reviewer and also how to test a budget to ensure that it is reasonable and sound. Information is included that is designed to help grant writers match their own reasons for writing grant proposals with the expectations of the potential funder. Several actual proposals written by the author that have been funded are provided as examples. The book identifies the essentials in a proposal package and explains how to develop each segment. Designed as a professional development resource for all faculty in higher education and individuals in all areas of K-12 education, particularly those in administrative capacities.
The First-Time Grantwriter's Guide to Success
by Cynthia Knowles
Call Number: LC243.A1 K56 2002
Publication Date: 2002-04-10
"Direct, clear, and concise, this comprehensive book is full of good suggestions for everyone from a novice to an experienced grantwriter. The authora's use of simple language makes it easy to read and understand." Michael Cormier, Superintendent Maine School Administration, District #9 New Sharon, ME "The detail and step-by-step discussion of the grantwriting process presented in this book provide a high level of comfort without being overwhelming. The large number of grant resources and checklists are invaluable." Bill Ferland, Information Technology Coordinator Rhode Island Office of Higher Education Providence, RI The recipe for writing powerful proposals that generate the funding you need! From finding appropriate sources for grants, to submitting an effective proposal, this invaluable guide is the definitive roadmap for easy navigation through the entire grantwriting process. Every facet of grantwriting is thoroughly yet succinctly covered, including an in-depth review of the application package, expert writing tips, specific techniques for an efficient plan of operation, and practical advice on budget development. Among the valuable features are: Detailed checklists at the end of each chapter Relevant sample forms and easy-to-use worksheets An informative glossary of terms Straightforward examples and figures that enhance clarity and readability Geared for quick reference and smooth implementation, this user-friendly manual is a crucial resource for anyone seeking to supplement tight budgets, save existing services, or support new programs through grant funding.
Writing the NIH Grant Proposal
by William Gerin; Jerome B. Itinger; Christine H. Kapelewski; Tanya M. Spruill
Call Number: RA11.D6 G47 2011
Publication Date: 2010-12-03
Hands-on advice that simplifies, demystifies, and takes the fear out of writinga NIH grant proposal This fully updated book takes readers through the complex issues involved in applying for a prestigious NIH grant from training grants to full-blown research awards. Actual forms from NIH grant applications including the PHS 398 and the new SF 424 forms are annotated to provide readers with step-by-step guidance that highlights unexpected nuances that can make all the difference between winning and losing a grant.
The Foundation Directory, both the free website and the database, include several tutorials on how to write and get a grant. In the database, look for the link to Grantseeker Training under "Get Started"