Skip to main content

ANTH 482/582: Anthropology of International Development: Quick Start

Resources and techniques useful for researching aspects of the anthropology of international development.

Suggested Databases

Depending on your research subject, a variety of databases--anthropology, news, business, trade--may prove useful. Here are a few suggestions.

 STAT-USA (with National Trade Data Bank) ceased publication in 2010.  For information on U.S. domestic and foreign     economic data; import and export statistics; etc.  it is now necessary to go to individual sources, see:  STAT-USA Data Sources.

Course Instructor

  

Thumbnail

  Ruth Vondracek, Associate Professor
  Librarian & Natural Resources Archivist
   ruth.vondracek@oregonstate.edu
   541 737-9273

Country Information

Country Studies from the Library of Congress

The World Factbook from the CIA

Countries and Regions from the World Bank

Online Resources

Here is a small sample of the resources available online:

World Health Organization (WHO)

Includes statistics, information about programs, publications and media.

The WWW Virtual Library: International Development 

U.S. State Department Background Notes  - include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.

Center for Global Development is an independent, nonprofit policy research organization that is dedicated to reducing global poverty and inequality and to making globalization work for the poor through a combination of research and strategic outreach. 

United Nations - Human Development Reports  

United Nations Development Programme  (works best in IE)

PressDisplay locked database
online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The service also provides a 60-day backfile and the ability to perform keyword searches within any issue. Newspapers are in their original language. Coverage Dates: - Most recent 60 days

Annotated Bibliographies

Graduate students in this class will be required to write an annotated bibliography. For help with this, please see the online handout from the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL), "Annotated Bibliographies." http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/

Style and Citation Guides

There is a Writing Guide for the Anthropology Department on their website. Several databases have citation help built in.  Be careful, however, because these are not 100% accurate--always check your citation carefully before including it.

You can also buy software to help you track your research and create bibliographies.Check out: