Skip to main content

1Search (library search system)

Why do I need to sign in?

After you enter a search in 1Search on the OSU Libraries' home page, you will be asked to sign in.

We are encouraging you to sign in before you see your search results so you can get the full benefit of 1Search.

  1. You can save searches and items to your favorites. They'll still be there when you sign in the next time. If you go in as Guest, you can put things in your favorites but only temporarily. Once you exit 1Search, they will be gone.
     
  2. There is some content from online journals and ebooks that will not display unless you are signed in. The publishers/vendors make this a requirement. If you want to search the breadth of our online content, you will want to sign in.
     

You can always log in later in the top right corner of the screen but you'll want to rerun your search to get the maximum benefit.

What am I searching when I use the articles scope?

When you choose the Articles scope, you are searching across many but not all of our online databases.

The default is to retrieve those journal articles that are available full text as well that those citations to articles to which we do not have full text online access but we can get for you from another library via Interlibrary Loan.

Do I still have access to {insert favorite database here}?

Yes, The databases are all still there for you to search. The new 1Search is one part of a complete search.

1Search does not include all the content from specialized databases to which OSU subscribes. For discipline-specific searching, use the OSU Libraries' Research Databases, also linked from the Library Home page under Find it, or check the Research Guides.

What does Multiple Sources Exist mean?

The article content for 1Search comes from a variety of sources such as publishers or databases. Sometimes the same article will be listed in multiple sources and you will see duplicate records in 1Search. These may be listed individually or grouped under the Multiple Sources Exist. There is no difference in the version other than the original source (publisher or database).

 

What databases are included in 1Search?

This is the list of databases that have been activated in 1Search as of October 2014.  Please note that this list is subject to change.

How to search by DOI

DOIs (Digital Object Identifier) are unique strings assigned to an article or other digital resource that acts as a persistent link to that resource on the Internet. Including a DOI is required with APA citation, but it's also a good practice to include to help users quickly access a specific resource.

Searching by DOI in 1Search is best done with a general keyword search. Type or copy/paste the DOI string into the main search box and click the magnifying glass or hit Enter/Return to search. 

Please note: While we do our best to ensure our local holdings and subscribed content come with a full metadata record, sometimes additional metadata fields such as DOI are not supplied. If searching by DOI returns no results, please try searching by title, author, or journal name. Additionally, if you are looking for a DOI value for a resource and it doesn't appear in 1Search, please search that information provider/database directly. DOIs will appear in the Item Details section of the record page.