Skip to main content
Oregon State University OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

OSU Libraries

Library Workshops for Grad Students & Faculty

OSU Libraries Library Events for Graduate Students and Faculty

Spring 2017 Workshop Schedule

*Click on the workshop title or date link to register for a workshop. Registration is encouraged, but not required.
All workshops are in the Autzen classroom on the 2nd floor of the Valley Library, unless otherwise noted.*

Intro to Zotero: A Web-Based Way to Manage Your Citations   (Hannah Gascho Rempel)       

Monday, April 10, 4:00  - 5:00 p.m., Autzen Classroom

OR

Thursday, May 4, 9:00 - 10:00 a.m., Autzen Classroom

  • Learn the basics about this free web-based citation management tool, which you can use to save citations and pdfs, as well as incorporate citations into a Word document.  In this session we will cover how to set up a Zotero library, how to put citations into your library, how to use Word to cite as you go, and how to sync Zotero across multiple computers.

Intermediate/Advanced Zotero (Hannah Gascho Rempel)       

Monday, April 10, 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m., Autzen Classroom

OR

Thursday, May 4, 10:00 - 11:00 a.m., Autzen Classroom

  • Learn more advanced features of this free web-based citation management tool.  In this session we will cover how to store PDFs in Zotero, how to import and export from EndNote, how to add in more citation styles, how to use Zotero Groups and the options for using Zotero on mobile devices.

Topic Modeling Analysis on Text Collections (Hui Zhang)

Tuesday, April 11, 1:00 - 2:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

  • Many datasets have substantial amounts of textual content, such as transcripts, archives, and blogs. The challenge of identifying the subjects or topics hidden in the textual bodies can be daunting. This workshop will teach the participants how to use the Stanford Topic Modeling Toolbox (TMT) to perform analysis on text collections, and will cover issues such as tool installation, input preparation, parameter tuning, and topic slicing. The goal of the workshop is to introduce not only a computer tool, but also the workflow of discovering topics in text collections. TMT is a text mining tool used by researchers in social sciences and humanities, but the workshop should also be interesting to people in other fields who want to analyze large amounts of text.

Spreadsheet Best Practices for Research    **Cancelled**                      (Steve Van Tuyl)

Tuesday, April 11 4:00 - 5:30 p.m.

  • This hands-on workshop focuses on best practices for using spreadsheets as part of the researcher’s data collection, analysis, and sharing activities including: managing common errors in spreadsheet data management, recommendations for spreadsheet QA/QC, and introducing Tidy Data Principles.

Statistics Basics with SPSS    **Cancelled**     (Brooke Robertshaw)

Wednesday, April 12, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

  • This hands-on SPSS workshop will cover the basics of SPSS - including opening different file types into SPSS, manipulating and transforming data, and running basic descriptives. If time permits, t-tests and chi-square will also be covered. Those who have had limited or no experience using SPSS should attend this workshop.

Basic EndNote Workshop          (Uta Hussong-Christian)                                  

Thursday, April 13, 9:00 – 10:30 a.m., Autzen Classroom

  • Love the writing but hate formatting those citations?  Wrapping up your thesis or dissertation this spring or summer?  Learn to use basic but powerful features of the reference management tool, EndNote.  In this hands-on workshop, participants will learn to setup an EndNote library, save references and pdfs, automatically create and edit a bibliography, and prepare a document for publishing.  This workshop is intended for novice EndNote users and is intentionally slow-paced and very interactive.

Intermediate/Advanced EndNote         (Uta Hussong-Christian)

Thursday, April 13, 10:30 - 11:30 a.m., Autzen Classroom

  • Learn more advanced features of EndNote including retrieving full-text articles via EndNote, using PDFs to create references, editing/adding citation styles and using references in document sections. We'll also explore EndNote's library sharing option.

SPSS Intermediate     **Cancelled**    (Brooke Robertshaw)

Thursday, April 13, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

  • This intermediate SPSS workshop will cover how to run ANOVAs, repeated measures ANOVAs, linear regression, and non-parametric tests in SPSS.  It is for those who already have some experience with SPSS, such as having attended Statistics Basics with SPSS.

Get Organized with Google Drive and Box (Michaela Willi Hooper and Dan Moore)

Wednesday, April 19, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.

  • Google Drive and Box are two university-supported systems for you to create and share documents, spreadsheets, slideshows, and data. This workshop will help you make the most of both platforms. Presenters will discuss strengths and weaknesses, demo sample projects, and take your questions. You will learn best practices for managing files, sharing resources, and collaborating on projects.

Intro to Qualtrics - Making Great Surveys          (Stefanie Buck)                              

Friday, April 21, 1:00 - 2:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

  • If you are doing program/event assessment or research involving data gathering, then you'll want to learn about Qualtrics. Qualtrics is a powerful survey research tool available to all OSU faculty and students. It's easy, powerful and, best of all, IRB compliant. This session will be an introduction to Qualtrics and will provide you with a basic overview of Qualtrics’ tools including how to create a basic survey and the different survey question types. We will learn about skips and display logic. We will also cover some different options for distributing surveys and getting reports out of Qualtrics.

Advanced Qualtrics                                            (Stefanie Buck)      

Friday, April 21, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

  • Learn how to create more sophisticated surveys and data gathering strategies using Qualtrics. We will cover survey flow (branching), piping text, using panels to distribute a survey to a specific group of people, triggers and using  libraries to store and reuse questions and surveys. Requirement: Introduction to Qualtrics or significant experience.

Manage Your Research Data (Clara Llebot Lorente)

Wednesday, April 26, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m., Autzen Classroom

Learn basic strategies to manage your research data. We will talk about best practices for organizing your data, including file formats and naming conventions; storage and backup; archiving, preserving and sharing your data;and metadata and metadata standards. We will also talk about tools to write a data management plan. 

Graduate Publishing Tips - Where, When & How  (Michaela Willi Hooper)      

Thursday, April 27, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m., Autzen Classroom

  • New to journal article writing? Learn some key publishing strategies and tips including how to get your story across, what to consider when choosing a journal to publish in, the value of impact factors, co-authorship considerations, and what to expect after you've submitted your article.

Mendeley     (Mary Markland)               

Tuesday, May 2, 1:00 - 2:30 p.m., Autzen Classroom

  • Learn to use Mendeley a "free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

Oral History Training (Chris Petersen)

Friday, May 5, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. **Willamette East Classroom**

  • Interested in capturing and preserving the memories of an influential professor or beloved family member? This workshop will provide you with the practical skills that you need to conduct comprehensive oral history interviews. Participants will be introduced to the techniques that professional oral historians use in preparing, conducting, preserving, and providing access to the oral interviews they conduct. Taught by the three principal faculty members who direct the Special Collections & Archives Research Center Oral History Program, this is a terrific learning opportunity for public historians, social scientists, and anyone else who loves a good story. No prior experience is needed.

Intro to LaTeX  (Clara Llebot Lorente)      

Tuesday, May 9, 10:00 - 11:00 a.m., Autzen Classroom

  • LaTeX is a free high-quality typesetting system suitable for any form of publishing, but specially useful for technical or scientific documents. It is designed so that you won’t have to worry as much about the appearance of your document, and will be able to focus on getting the right content. We will talk about the basic structure of a document, the typesetting of complex mathematical formulas, inclusion of figures, and the generation of bibliographies with BibTeX. 

All workshops are in the Autzen Classroom on the 2nd floor (main floor) of the Valley Library (unless otherwise noted).

If you have any questions about these workshops, contact Hannah Gascho Rempel at hannah.rempel@oregonstate.edu.